Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Malaysian 125cc grid statistics

Malaysian 125cc grid statistics

The statisticians take a close look at the 125cc qualifying positions at the Polini Malaysian Motorcycle Grand Prix.

- Andrea Iannone starts from pole for the first time in his Grand Prix career. His only other front row start was when he was the third fastest qualifier at Brno earlier this year. Iannone has not been on the podium since he won the rain affected Chinese Grand Prix.

- Gabor Talmacsi led the Malaysian 125cc race last year from start to finish and won by 6.7 seconds – his biggest ever margin of victory.

- Danny Webb is starting from his best ever grid position (third), having been fourth on the grid at both the Portuguese and Indianapolis Grands Prix.

- Pol Espargaro´s best result in his two visits to Sepang is fourteenth two years ago. He was fourth on the grid last year in Malaysia but crashed out of the race with four laps to go when battling with the leading group.

- Sergio Gadea (fifth) starts from his best grid position since he was the third fastest qualifier at the British Grand Prix.

- Joan Olive had one of his best results of 2007 at the Malaysian GP, finishing in fourth position from eighth on the grid.

- Tomoyoshi Koyama, who has equalled his best qualifying result of the year in seventh, finished second last year at Sepang which is the last time he stood on the podium.

- Following his win in Australia, new world champion Mike di Meglio will be aiming to score back-to-back victories for the first time in his GP career.


Other updates you may be interested in ›