Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Misano racing numbers

Misano racing numbers

A selection of racing numbers ahead of the Gran Premio Cinzano di San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini.

24 – Hungarian 250cc rider Imre Toth will celebrate his 24th birthday on race day at Misano.

23 – The 2005 125cc World Champion Thomas Luthi will celebrate his 23rd birthday on race day at Misano.

20 – Colin Edwards’ fifth place finish at the Indianapolis GP was his 20th successive point scoring result.

17 – On race day at Misano it will be exactly 17 years since Alessandro Gramigni finished third in the final 125cc GP race of 1992, in South Africa, to become the first Aprilia rider to win a world title.

12 – Pol Espargaro’s win at Indianapolis on a Derbi ended a run of 12 successive 125cc wins by Aprilia – their longest ever sequence of successive 125cc GP wins.

12 – Misano has staged Grand Prix events on 12 previous occasions, the first of which was in 1980. The ten occasions that a GP was hosted at Misano up to 1993 the races were run in the opposite direction around the circuit to those held in the last two years.

11 – There have been 11 previous San Marino Grand Prix events. The first San Marino Grand Prix was held at Imola in 1981. Three different circuits have hosted the San Marino Grand Prix – Imola twice (1981 & 1983), Mugello four times (1982, 84, 91 and 93) and Misano on five occasions (1985, 86, 87, 2007 and 2008).

9 – Nine different riders have appeared on the podium in the MotoGP class in the last three races. The last time that three successive races in the premier-class has resulted in nine different riders appearing on the podium was back in 1992 at the German, Dutch and Hungarian Grands Prix.

9 – Bradley Smith’s second place finish at Indianapolis secured Aprilia the 125cc constructor’s title for the ninth time.

5 – At the Indianapolis Grand Prix, Nicky Hayden became just the fifth rider to finish on the podium on the 800cc Ducati, joining Casey Stoner, Loris Capirossi, Toni Elias and Alex Barros.

2 – Misano is one of just two current circuits where Rossi has not started from pole riding a MotoGP machine; the other is Laguna Seca.


Other updates you may be interested in ›