Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

2010 CEV Buckler starts this weekend at the Circuit de Catalunya

2010 CEV Buckler starts this weekend at the Circuit de Catalunya

The 2010 CEV Buckler gets underway this weekend at the Circuit de Catalunya, with a total of 137 riders confirmed across the four categories; 125GP, Moto2, Stock Extreme and the Kawasaki Ninja Cup.

125GP continues in its promise as being the launching pad to the World Championship category. Without the reigning Champion Alberto Moncayo, who made a superb points-scoring World Championship debut in Qatar last Sunday, the crown lies vacated for the next holder. Young talents Maverick Viñales and Miguel Oliveira, who completed their first seasons in the CEV last year with extremely promising results, will be amongst the primary candidates, along with experienced riders such as Iván Maestro and Isaac Viñales.

The category does not stop producing new talent either, and new names such as Alex Rins and Pau Tortosa will soon be recognisable to followers of the CEV. The participation of a range of nationalities is of course to continue, with Japanese rider Hiroki Ono (third at Jerez last year), Finn Niklas Ajo (son of the head of Marc Márquez’s World Championship team, Aki Ajo) and Czech talent Jakub Jantulik.

Moto2 will exist as a category in its own right, and will have 32 entrants for 2010. This number will be comprised of riders with great prestige and experience of 4-stroke bikes, thus ensuring a great spectacle. Current Champions of the Spanish Supersport and Extreme categories, Kev Coghlan and Carmelo Morales, will be joined by names such as José David de Gea, Iván Silva, Dani Rivas, Jordi Torres and Belgian rider Xavier Simeón.

Another category to debut at Montmeló will be Stock Extreme, the technical approach of which will be very close to that of its predecessor Extreme. Stock Extreme will not only see more riders taking part (41), but has opened the door to new manufacturers too. Alongside regulars Kawasaki, Honda, Yamaha and Suzuki, new names will include BMW and Ducati who have underlined their commitment to the new class with the introduction of experienced riders Xavier Fores and Javier Del Amor. Developing in the class with them will be riders Julián Mazuecos, Francisco Javier Oliver, Enrique Rocamora and Santiago Barragán.

With regards to the exciting Kawasaki Ninja Cup there will be a total of 25 riders battling for victory in the fourth edition of the competition, all bidding to succeed Kyle David Smith who has this year made the step up to Stock Extreme.

The times of the races this Sunday are as follows:

10.45 Moto2
12.00 125GP
13.00 Kawasaki Ninja Cup
14.00 Stock Extreme

TVE plans to broadcast the 125GP race live on La1, with highlights of the Moto2 event.

The full entry list of riders, along with more information on the Championship, can be found at and

MotoGP, 2010

Other updates you may be interested in ›