Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

TIM TT Assen racing numbers

TIM TT Assen racing numbers

A collection of facts and statistics ahead of the sixth round of the 2010 MotoGP World Championship at the Assen circuit, the 80th edition of the famous race.

241 – There have been a total of 241 motorcycle Grand Prix races held at the Assen circuit.

80 – This is the 80th time that a Dutch TT event has been held. The first running of the Dutch TT was in 1925 and it has taken place every year since with the exception of the years 1940 to 1945 because of the Second World War.

56 years ago – On the first day of practice at Assen, it will be 56 years ago to the day that the 1954 Ulster Grand Prix took place. The 500cc event, won by Ray Amm on a Norton, was reduced to 112 miles due to adverse weather conditions and consequently did not count towards the World Championship as it was below the minimum length of 125 miles for a GP event at that time.

23 – Claudio Corti will celebrate his 23rd birthday on the day of qualifying at the Dutch TT.

16.161 seconds – The top 15 finishers in the Moto2 race at Silverstone were covered by just 16.161 seconds. Outside the 125cc class, this is the closest ever top 15 for a Grand Prix that has run for the full race distance.

15 – Spanish riders have won the last 15 125cc races. The last non-Spanish winner in the 125cc class was Andrea Iannone at the Catalan Grand Prix last year. This equals the longest sequence of successive 125cc GP wins by one nation, which was achieved by Italian riders over the 1955/56/57 seasons.

4 – Yamaha are the most successful manufacturer at the Dutch TT since the start of the four-stroke MotoGP formula with four victories. Honda have had three MotoGP wins at the Dutch TT, the last one being in 2006. Ducati’s single MotoGP win at Assen was two years ago.

4 – Derbi riders have won the last four races in the 125cc race. This is the best performance by the Spanish manufacturer since they won four successive races in 2001. If a Derbi rider wins at Assen then it will equal their longest ever run of successive 125cc GP wins achieved in 1988.

2 – Following Simone Corsi’s crash at Silverstone, there are now only two riders in the Moto2 class who have scored points at all of the first five races – Toni Elías and Sergio Gadea.

MotoGP, 2010, TIM TT ASSEN

Other updates you may be interested in ›