Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Sepang racing numbers

Sepang racing numbers

Stock up on some interesting stats and figures for Round 15 of the 2010 MotoGP World Championship, the Shell Advance Malaysian Motorcycle Grand Prix.

31 – Thirty one GP victories for Spain so far this year is the highest number of wins that Spanish riders have taken in a single season of racing. Only Great Britain has had more Grand Prix wins in a single season. Great Britain’s record for number of wins by riders from a single nation in one season stands at 37, which was achieved in 1967.

23 – Spanish riders have won the last twenty-three 125cc Grand Prix races. The last non-Spanish winner in the 125cc class was Andrea Iannone at the Catalan Grand Prix last year. This is the longest sequence of successive 125cc GP wins by one nation in the 62-year history of Grand Prix racing.

10 – The victory by Marc Márquez at the Japanese GP was the tenth victory of the year in the 125cc class by Derbi riders. This is the highest number of wins achieved in a single season by Derbi in the 125cc class.

9 – At the Japanese Grand Prix, Marc Márquez started from pole for the ninth time in 2010. This equals the record for the most poles in a single season in the 125cc class previously achieved by Roberto Locatelli in 2000 and Mattia Pasini in 2007.

5 – Valentino Rossi is the most successful rider at the Sepang circuit with five premier class victories – two on Honda and three on Yamaha.

4 – Since the four-stroke MotoGP formula was introduced in 2002, Yamaha have been the most successful manufacturer with four victories at Sepang, Ducati have won three times and Honda just once, in 2003.


Other updates you may be interested in ›