Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Márquez secures pole position for Sepang race

Márquez secures pole position for Sepang race

The Red Bull Ajo Motorsport rider took his tenth pole position of the season in qualifying for the Shell Advance Malaysian Motorcycle Grand Prix. Joining him on the front row; Smith, Terol and Espargaró.

Marc Márquez’s tenth pole position of the season was secured at Sepang on Saturday as the Red Bull Ajo Motorsport rider laid down a best lap of 2’13.398 during qualifying. The 17 year-old, who trails Championship leader Nico Terol by just six points going into the Round 14 race, was 0.293s faster than second placed Bradley Smith.

The British rider had looked to be on course for his third pole of the campaign as he led towards the climax of the session, but Márquez first posted a time just five-thousandths of a second better than that of the Bancaja Aspar man before improving to end up almost three-tenths clear.

Smith’s team-mate Terol was third at 0.706s off Márquez’s time with Pol Espargaró (Tuenti Racing) completing a familiar-looking front row of the grid for Sunday’s race.

Efrén Vázquez (Tuenti Racing), Sandro Cortese (Avant Mitsubishi Ajo), Esteve Rabat (Blusens-STX) and Luis Salom (Stipa-Molenaar Racing) secured second-row berths, with Tomoyoshi Koyama (Racing Team Germany), Randy Krummenacher (Stipa-Molenaar Racing), Johann Zarco (WTR San Marino Team) and Danny Webb (Andalucia Cajasol) making up the third line of the grid.

Young Brit Danny Kent (Lambretta Reparto Corse), in only his third GP this season, qualified in an impressive 13th position.

There was a crash during the session for Khairuddin Zulfahmi (AirAsia - Sepang International Circuit Team) who was avoided well by the following Márquez, whilst Simone Grotzkyj (Fontana Racing) also fell towards the end.


Other updates you may be interested in ›