Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

125cc title decider at Valencia

125cc title decider at Valencia

The final round of the 2010 season this weekend will see either Marc Márquez or Nico Terol crowned as the 125cc World Champion. Find out the permutations here and read about previous title deciders at the Spanish circuit.

The 125cc title battle goes to the final event of the year with seventeen points separating Championship leader Marc Márquez and second place rider Nico Terol. These are the scenarios with regard to the Championship title:

If Terol wins the race then Márquez needs to finish eighth or higher to become World Champion.

If Terol finishes second then Márquez needs to finish 13th or higher to become World Champion.

If Terol does not finish either first or second, then Márquez will be World Champion.

Past 125cc title deciders at Valencia:

Since the Grand Prix of Valencia became the host for the final Grand Prix of the season, there have been three previous occasions when the 125cc title has been decided at the event:

2002 – Manuel Poggiali (Gilera) had a chance of taking the title at the Valencia GP; he had an eight-point deficit to Arnaud Vincent (Aprilia). However, Vincent finished second in front of Poggiali at the final race, to become the first French rider to win the 125cc world title.

2005 – Mika Kallio (KTM) needed to win the race at Valencia to take the title, but only if Thomas Lüthi (Honda) finished lower than 13th. Although Kallio did his part by winning the race, Honda rider Lüthi took the title by cruising home for a ninth place finish.

2007 – Gabor Talmacsi (Aprilia) had a ten-point advantage over team-mate Hector Faubel at the start of the Valencia race in 2007. The two riders took the top two places on the grid and Faubel won a fantastic race in which the top five riders crossed the line covered by less than a second; however Talmacsi did enough to take the title by finishing second.


Other updates you may be interested in ›