Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

2010 CEV Buckler draws to a close with two titles at stake at Jerez

2010 CEV Buckler draws to a close with two titles at stake at Jerez

The seventh and final round of the 2010 CEV Buckler will take place at Jerez this weekend, and there are two National Championship titles yet to be decided with the 125GP and Moto2 classes set to reach a climax.

In the 125GP category Maverick Viñales goes into the final stage as leader in the standings, with a seven-point advantage over Miguel Oliveira and 15 over Alex Rins. Catalan rider Viñales knows that second position in the race will be enough for him to take the title if his Portuguese rival Oliveira wins the race. However, when casting the mind back to the first visit of the 2010 CEV Buckler to Jerez in June (Round 3), Oliveira was the race winner, with Rins second and Viñales third – a repeat of which would hand the Andalucia Cajasol rider the title.

The victory of Carmelo Morales in the Moto2 race last Sunday at Valencia opened the doors for the Laglisse rider to take his third consecutive title this weekend. With a 21-point lead over Kev Coghlan and Jordi Torres if either were to win the race at Jerez 12th place would be enough for Morales to claim the crown. Present again in the race will be Axel Pons, who put in an impressive ride to second place at Valencia, with fellow World Championship riders Xavier Simeon and Randy Krummenacher also taking part.

This weekend will signal the end of the Moto2 category’s first season in the CEV Buckler, one which has proven highly successful. In Valencia the seven first positions were occupied by seven different manufacturers, and at Jerez 38 riders and 15 different bike manufacturers are on the entry list. Amongst them will be the Bottpower, and the RP2 of German manufacturer IAMT, both of which premiered at Valencia.

With regards to the Stock Extreme class, Champion Javier Forés will again participate in two categories, also riding in the Moto2 race. The runner-up spot in the Championship will be decided between Santiago Barragán and Javier del Amor, separated by just three points in the standings.

The times of the races on Sunday are as follows (Spanish local time):

10:45 Moto2
12:00 125GP
13:00 Stock Extreme

MotoGP, 2010

Other updates you may be interested in ›