Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Terol coasts to back-to-back wins in Portugal

Terol coasts to back-to-back wins in Portugal

Bankia Aspar’s Nicolas Terol continued his perfect start to the 2011 season with his third successive win of the 125cc campaign at the bwin Grande Prémio de Portugal. The Spaniard dominated at the front in Estoril and led home Sandro Cortese (Intact-Racing Team Germany) and Johann Zarco (Avant-AirAsia-Ajo).

Pole sitter Terol become the first rider to win the opening three 125cc GP races since Masao Azuma in 1999. The 22 year old extended his lead in the championship standings to 25 points after securing maximum points after three rounds and claimed his eighth career victory.


Cortese who qualified second, continued his run of grid positions in the top two for this year’s 125cc season and fought with the most experienced rider in the class Héctor Faubel (Bankia Aspar) through the middle of the race.  They led a gaggle of riders for an intense battle including Maverick Viñales (Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing) and Johann Zarco (Avant-AirAsia-Ajo). However, Faubel hit the tarmac after crashing with just a few laps remaining, when he was in line for the final spot on the rostrum.


The Frenchman who achieved his first podium in 125cc at the last round in Jerez, made it two in a row, after a photo-finish between him and rookie rider Viñales decided that the Ajo Motorsport beat him on the line. The difference between third and fourth was a marginal two thousandths of a second. Fourth place was the Spaniard’s best result of his debut campaign in 125cc, after narrowly missing the opportunity to stand on the rostrum.


Jonas Folger (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport) who is now joint third in the championship with Zarco, was fifth, ahead of Efrén Vázquez (Avant-AirAsia-Ajo). Miguel Oliveira (Team Andalucía Banca Cívica) who became the first Portuguese rider to start on the front row of a Grand Prix grid, finished in seventh in front of his local fans, in his third race of his rookie season.


Luis Salom (RW Racing GP) was eighth, one spot in front of the second Bankia Aspar bike of Adrián Martín. Tenth went to Simone Grotzkyj (Phonica Racing).


Danny Kent (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport) who was penalised for a jump start, had a ride through penalty but came through to finish in 15th and clinch the last point on offer. Kent fought off competition from fellow compatriot, Danny Webb (Mahindra Racing) who had to settle for 16th. The third British rider Harry Stafford (Ongetta-Centro Seta) had a crash towards the latter stages of the race and had to return to the pits. Taylor Mackenzie (Phonica Racing) who qualified 26th after a crash, didn’t start the race due to injuries sustained in the accident.


Alberto Moncayo (Team Andalucía Banca Cívica) after qualifying fifth, had bike problems which prevented him taking his place on the starting grid and the Spaniard failed to start the race.



Other updates you may be interested in ›