Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Gran Premio de Aragón racing numbers

Gran Premio de Aragón racing numbers

An interesting collection of facts and statistics ahead of round 14 of the season this weekend at Aragón Motorland.

259 – Casey Stoner has 259 championship points after the first thirteen races of the year, ten more than Dani Pedrosa scored in 2008, which was the previous highest points’ total by a Honda rider during the 800cc era of MotoGP

117 – Colin Edwards and Valentino Rossi have both made 117 MotoGP starts riding Yamaha machinery. The only rider who has made had more starts in the premier-class on Yamaha than these two riders is Norick Abe with 143 (107 x 500cc, 36 x MotoGP).

100 – At the Aragon Grand Prix, Randy de Puniet is scheduled to make his 100th MotoGP start. He will become the first French rider to reach the milestone of 100 GP starts in the premier-class. De Puniet made his debut in the MotoGP class at the opening race of 2006 at Jerez and had a 100% start record up to missing the Laguna Seca race last year following his crash in Germany.

95 – Spain is the country that has hosted most Grand Prix events; this will be the 95th Grand Prix to be held in Spain. This includes the Grand Prix of Aragon, Spain, Catalunya, Valencia, Madrid, Europe, FIM and Portugal.

61.5% – Marc Marquez has won 16 of the last 26 GP races that he has started in the 125cc and Moto2 classes, starting at the 125cc Italian Grand Prix last year when he took his very first GP win. This represents a 61.5% win rate over this 26 race period.

50 years ago – On the day of qualifying at the Aragon Grand Prix it will be exactly 50 years ago at the Swedish Grand Prix in 1961 at the Kristianstad circuit that Mike Hailwood won the 250cc GP riding a Honda to become the first rider to win a world championship riding a motorcycle manufactured in Japan.

38 – Jorge Lorenzo’s victory at Misano was the 38th GP win of his career. This places him equal 11th in the all-time GP winners list with John Surtees who won the 500cc title on four occasions and the 350cc title three times.

24 – Valentino Rossi has scored points in all 24 races since returning to racing at the German Grand Prix last year, after breaking his leg at the Italian GP.

18 – Harry Stafford will celebrate his 18th birthday on the day before practice starts at the Aragon GP.

17 – Jorge Lorenzo’s win at Misano was the 17th MotoGP victory of his career. This is just one win less in the premier-class than 1987 500cc World Champion Wayne Gardner.

8 – Casey Stoner’s pole at Misano was his 8th of the year. Only twice previously have riders had more poles in a single season during the four-stroke MotoGP era, both with nine; Valentino Rossi in 2003 and Casey Stoner in 2008.

6 – There have been six different circuits that have been used for Grand Prix racing in Spain. Other than Aragon, the circuits that have been used in Spain are as follows (with number of GP events hosted in brackets): Jerez (25), Catalunya (20), Jarama (19), Montjuich (17) and the Ricardo Tormo circuit in Valencia (12)

6 – Marc Marquez’s first Moto2 victory of the year at the French GP made him the youngest ever rider to have won in the intermediate-class of Grand Prix racing. On the day of his sixth win in the Moto2 class at the San Marino Grand Prix, Marc Marquez was 18 years and 199 days old. This is still three days younger than Dani Pedrosa was when he set the previous record for youngest winner in the intermediate-class in South Africa in 2004.

3 – The San Marino - Rimini Riviera Grand Prix was the third successive GP event held in Italy at which all three winners have been from Spain: Misano 2011 (Lorenzo, Marquez, Terol), Mugello 2011 (Lorenzo, Marquez, Terol) and Misano 2010 (Pedrosa, Elias, Marquez).


Other updates you may be interested in ›