Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Racing numbers: Grand Prix of Japan

Racing numbers: Grand Prix of Japan

A selection of relevant statistical data to prepare you for the 15th round of the 2011 World Championship taking place this weekend at the Twin Ring Motegi circuit.

299 – Casey Stoner’s win in Aragón was the 299th podium finish in the premier-class for Australian riders.

284 – In spite of having a non-score at the Spanish GP earlier in the year, when he was knocked off by Valentino Ros¬si, Casey Stoner’s current points total of 284 is just three points less than he had accumulated at the same stage of 2007 when he took his first MotoGP world title.

99 – The victory by Marc Márquez at Aragón was the 99th victory for Spanish riders in the intermediate-class of Grand Prix racing. Spanish riders won 85 times in the 250cc GP class and now have 14 victories in the Moto2 class.

63% – Marc Márquez has won 17 of the last 27 GP races that he has started in the 125cc and Moto2 classes, starting at the 125cc Italian Grand Prix last year when he took his very first GP win. This represents a 63% win rate over this 27 race period.

50 – Jones Folger is scheduled to make his 50th Grand Prix start at the Japanese GP. If he makes the start at Motegi he will become the third youngest rider ever to reach the milestone of 50 Grand Prix starts; only Scott Redding and Jorge Lorenzo have reached this milestone at a younger age.

44 – On the first day of practice at the Japanese Grand Prix it will be exactly 44 years since the Canadian GP took place at the Mosport circuit in 1967. This is the only time that a Grand Prix event has taken place in Canada and becau¬se of the extreme cold weather the 500cc race, won by Mike Hailwood (Honda), was reduced in distance by ten laps, but Hailwood’s winning time was still 1 hr 13 minutes 28.5 seconds. Hailwood also won the 250cc race and Bill Ivy (Yamaha) won the 125cc race.

38 – Casey Stoner’s victory at Aragón was the 38th GP win of his career. This places him equal 11th in the all-time GP winners list with great rival Jorge Lorenzo and John Surtees who won the 500cc title on four occasions and the 350cc title three times.

33 – There have been 33 previous Grand Prix events that have taken place in Japan. In addition to Motegi that has been used twelve times previously, Suzuka has hosted a Grand Prix event on 19 occasions and the Fisco circuit has been used twice.

26 – Dani Pedrosa celebrates his 26th birthday on the day before practice commences at the Japanese Grand Prix.

21 – Dominique Aegerter celebrates his 21st birthday on the first day of practice at the Japanese Grand Prix.

14 – Nico Terol’s victory in Aragon was the 14th successive win for Aprilia in the 125cc class. This is the longest se¬quence of successive wins ever achieved by Aprilia in the 125cc class.

13 – This will be the thirteenth occasion that a Grand Prix event has been held at the Motegi circuit. The first Grand Prix at Motegi was held in 1999 and the circuit has been used every year since.

12 – Casey Stoner has finished on the podium at the last twelve successive MotoGP races. In the 63 year history of motorcycle Grand Prix racing only five riders have finished on the podium in more than twelve successive premier class races: Valentino Rossi, Giacomo Agostini, Mick Doohan, Wayne Rainey and Jorge Lorenzo.

9 – Casey Stoner’s pole at Misano was his ninth of the year; this equals the record for most poles in a single season in the MotoGP era previously achieved by Stoner himself in 2008 and Valentino Rossi in 2003.

4 – Since the introduction of the four-stroke MotoGP formula in 2002, Ducati have been the most successful manufac¬turer in MotoGP at the Motegi circuit with four victories. Honda riders have won on three occasions and Yamaha twice.

3 – The three riders who have had most Grand Prix wins at the Motegi circuit, each having won on three occasions, are: Loris Capirossi (3 x MotoGP), Toni Elias (2 x 250cc, 1 x Moto2) and Mika Kallio (2 x 125cc, 1 x 250cc).

0 – None of the riders starting the 125cc race at the Japanese Grand Prix have previously won a GP race at the Motegi circuit.

0 – The number of victories for Honda at Motegi during the 800cc era of MotoGP. Makoto Tamada’s victory in 2004 was the last time that a Honda rider won the MotoGP race at Motegi.


Other updates you may be interested in ›