Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Terol crowned World Champion as Viñales wins final 125cc GP

Terol crowned World Champion as Viñales wins final 125cc GP

Maverick Viñales claimed his fourth victory of his rookie season at the Gran Premio Gernerali de la Comunitat Valenciana as Nicolas Terol was crowned the 2011 125cc World Champion.

The final race of the two stroke era got underway at the Ricardo Tormo Circuit with the Championship to be decided within the 24 laps of the race. Danny Webb (Mahindra Racing) got a great start off his first ever pole position, holding the lead until lap two when Héctor Faubel (Bankia Aspar) took over from the British rider, but all eyes were on the fight for the Championship between leader Nicolas Terol (Bankia Aspar) and challenger Johann Zarco (Avant-AirAsia-Ajo).

Zarco started well off the front row as Terol rode cautiously from his ninth place start, the Spaniard needing only to finish 11th or better to claim the title. But after finishing every race in the top six this season, the young Frenchman’s Championship hopes were dashed as he crashed out of lap three while pushing to get to front on the race, handing the last ever 125cc crown to Terol.

With first and second in the Championship decided with Zarco’s retirement, the battle for third between Sandro Cortese (Intact Racing Team Germany) and Maverick Viñales (Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing) was on, though it was decided before the conclusion of the race when the German rider crashed and retired at the halfway point.

The race for top three positions was down to Viñales, Faubel and Terol, as the new Champion made his way to the front to join the race for the win, the three trading order as they stretched the gap to the rest of the field to over 5 seconds. Viñales moved to the front with 6 laps to go, and crossed the line first to score his fourth win of his remarkable debut GP season, with Terol second and Faubel third.

Fourth place went to Efrén Vázquez (Avant-AirAsia-Ajo), with Jonas Folger (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport) claiming fifth ahead of Alberto Moncayo (Team Andalucía Banca Cívica) in sixth. RW Racing GP’s Luis Salom placed seventh from his second row start, Finnish rider Niklas Ajo (TT Motion Events Racing) was eighth with Luigi Morciano (Team Italia FMI) and Matteoni Racing’s Louis Rossi completing the top ten.


Other updates you may be interested in ›