Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Racing Numbers: Mugello

Racing Numbers: Mugello

As the MotoGP™ grid heads into its final weekend of the triple-header at Mugello at the Gran Premio d’Italia TIM, brings you some facts and figures about the event.

63 – Dani Pedrosa’s win in Germany was the 63rd time he has stood on the podium in the MotoGP class. This is just one premier-class podium less than achieved by three times 500cc world champions Wayne Rainey during his GP career.

59 – Following his sixth place finish in Germany, Zulfahmi Khairuddin has scored 59 points so far in 2012, which is already the greatest number of points achieved by a Malaysian rider in a single season of Grand Prix racing; a record previously held by Shahrol Yuzy who scored 58 points in the 250cc class in 2002.

28 – Ben Spies celebrated his 28th birthday on the Wednesday before the Italian Grand Prix and Yuki Takahashi’s 28th birthday is on the Thursday.

22 – Casey Stoner’s crash in Germany resulted in him not finishing a race for the first time since the Spanish GP last year, since when he had finished in the top four at twenty-two successive races.

20 – Jorge Lorenzo and Dani Pedrosa have both qualified on pole on 20 occasions in the MotoGP class, jointly holding the record for most premier-class poles by a Spanish rider.

16 – At least one Italian rider has stood on the podium in the premier-class GP race at Mugello for the last sixteen years. The last premier-class podium at Mugello without at least one Italian rider was 1995.

16 – Dani Pedrosa’s win at the Sachsenring was his 16th in the MotoGP class. This is one win more in the premier-class than fellow Spanish rider Alex Crivillé. Jorge Lorenzo, with 21 MotoGP wins, is the only Spanish rider with more premier-class GP victories than Pedrosa.

14.996 seconds – Dani Pedrosa’s winning margin at the German GP was the second largest of the four-stroke MotoGP era in dry weather conditions. The only race that has a larger winning margin was the Czech GP at Brno in 2008, when Valentino Rossi won from Toni Elias with a margin of 15.004 seconds.

5 – Five riders in the MotoGP class have scored at every one of the opening eight races of the year: Dani Pedrosa, Cal Crutchlow, Valentino Rossi, Nicky Hayden and Hector Barberá.

3 – At the German GP, Andrea Dovizioso finished on the podium for the third time in 2012. The last rider from a satellite team to have three podium finishes in a season was Marco Melandri in 2007.


Other updates you may be interested in ›