Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

FIM Awards Ceremony in Valencia rounds off 2012 season

FIM Awards Ceremony in Valencia rounds off 2012 season

The 2012 MotoGP™ season was brought to an end this evening at the FIM Awards Ceremony, where among others, Jorge Lorenzo picked up his World Champion trophy at the Auditori Mar Rojo de L’Oceanogràfic in the Ciutat de les Arts i les Ciencies.

Presenters Gavin Emmett and Lara Álvarez were joined on stage by President of the Generalitat Valenciana Mr. Alberto Fabra, Mayoress of Valencia Ms. Rita Barberá Nolla, Dorna Sports CEO Mr. Carmelo Ezpeleta and FIM President Mr. Vito Ippolito, to present the numerous awards throughout the course of the evening.

It was Yamaha Factory Racing rider Lorenzo who took centre-stage as he collected his award, along with Moto2™ World Champion Marc Márquez and inaugural Moto3™ World Champion Sandro Cortese. These were however not the only awards on offer, as a series of other notable achievements saw other prizes awarded, such as Top CRT rider of the year for Power Electronics Aspar’s Aleix Espargaró, as well as Rookie of the Year, which went to LCR Honda MotoGP’s Stefan Bradl in MotoGP, JiR Moto2’s Johann Zarco in Moto2 and Estrella Galicia 0,0’s Alex Rins in Moto3. This year’s Rookie of the year award is awarded in memory of Marco Simoncelli on behalf of the Sepang International Circuit.

The BMW M Award for best qualifier in the MotoGP class was awarded to Lorenzo, and the Tissot Pole of Poles went to Lorenzo, Pol Espargaró in Moto2 and Cortese in Moto3. Malaysia’s Sepang International Circuit was awarded Best Grand Prix, Repsol Honda Team the Best MotoGP Team, whilst across the three classes the Constructor Titles went to Honda in MotoGP, Suter in Moto2, and KTM in Moto3. The Michel Metraux Trophy was awarded to Pol Espargaró in Moto2 and Alex Rins in Moto3, whilst the Shoya Tomizawa Fair Play Award went to the Espargaró brothers Pol and Aleix. Future talent was also honoured as the Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup top three picked up their trophies with champion Florian Alt leading the way.

MotoGP, 2012

Other updates you may be interested in ›