Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

MotoGP™ continues to source riders from the CEV Buckler

MotoGP™ continues to source riders from the CEV Buckler

Since the CEV Buckler began its journey at the hands of Dorna and the RFME 15 years ago, many riders who began their career in the Spanish Championship have reached the top to compete for the MotoGP™ World Championship.

2013 will be no different with a total of 12 regular championship competitors in the CEV Buckler following in the footsteps of Jorge Lorenzo, Casey Stoner, Dani Pedrosa, Marc Márquez and many other MotoGP™ role models.

CEV Buckler Moto2™ champion, Jordi Torres, has managed to fix his place for next season. As has South African Steve Odendaal and Briton Kyle Smith, who will compete with the best riders in the Moto2™ category.

In the CEV Buckler Moto3™ category, 9 out of the top 20 riders will make the move up to MotoGPTM World Championship as permanent riders. Spanish riders Álex Márquez (Moto3™ champion), Juanfran Guevara and Ana Carrasco, Italians Francesco Bagnaia and Lorenzo Baldassarri, British rider John McPhee, German Phillip Öttl, Japanese rider Hyuga Watanabe and Belgian Livio Loi make up the new generation of riders destined to make international motorcycling history.

It is important to remember the large number of riders that came to MotoGP™ World Championship after competing in earlier CEV Buckler championships. Out of the 86 riders that will take part in the “Continental Circus” in 2013, a total of 65 (or 75.58%) have participated in the CEV Buckler at some point in their sporting career. This statistic shows that every year, aspiring leaders of the sport choose to take part in the CEV Buckler.

MotoGP, 2013

Other updates you may be interested in ›