Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Marquez top as Spies is sidelined again

Marquez top as Spies is sidelined again

Marc Marquez remained quickest in third practice on Saturday morning, as the running order for qualifying was decided at the Red Bull Indianapolis Grand Prix. The Repsol Honda Team rider pushed LCR Honda MotoGP’s Stefan Bradl back to second as Cal Crutchlow completed the top three for Monster Yamaha Tech3. Ben Spies was set to return this weekend, but remains out of action following another crash.

Yet to be headed in any session, Marquez has reduced the best lap time to 1’38.844 - only 31 thousandths of a second slower than Dani Pedrosa’s best ever MotoGP™ lap of Indianapolis. This demoted Laguna Seca pole-sitter Bradl, who had topped the timesheets for most of the session.

Behind Crutchlow, the top five was rounded out by GO&FUN Honda Gresini’s Alvaro Bautista and Marquez’s teammate Pedrosa, while Yamaha Factory Racing duo Jorge Lorenzo and Valentino Rossi occupied the sixth and seventh spots.

In 24th place, Cardion AB Motoracing’s Karel Abraham had taken pain-killing injections after tearing a muscle in his left shoulder on Friday. However there was a disastrous outcome for Ben Spies, as the Ignite Pramac Racing rider – who was set to race for the first time since Texas – highsided on the exit of Turn 4; the American, who broke his right collarbone in Malaysia last year, has now suffered a dislocation of the left acromioclavicular joint, meaning he is relegated to the sidelines once again.

As has been the case since the new qualifying format came into force at the start of 2013, the top ten overall runners from across the opening three practice sessions head directly into Q2 qualifying. The rest will contest the preceding Q1 phase, from which the top two will be submitted to the shootout to create a 12-rider battle for pole position at the legendary Motor Speedway.

The action will resume with Free Practice 4, immediately followed by Qualifying for the Red Bull Indianapolis Grand Prix, from 1:30pm local time (GMT -4).


Other updates you may be interested in ›