Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Racing Numbers: Shell Advance Malaysian Motorcycle Grand Prix

Racing Numbers: Shell Advance Malaysian Motorcycle Grand Prix

A quartet of Grands Prix and a century of points remain on offer across the final month of the 2013 MotoGP™ season. It all begins with the ‘flyaway’ races, which in-turn kick-off at Sepang in Malaysia. It’s numbers all round…

1,000 – Spanish riders have accumulated a total of exactly 1,000 points in the Moto3™ class so far in 2013; all the other nations combined have scored a total of 820 points.

200 – At the Malaysian Grand Prix, Anthony West is scheduled to make his 200th Grand Prix start. West made his debut as a wildcard rider at the age of 17 in the 125 class at Phillip Island in 1998, before becoming a full-time rider in the 250 class in 1999. His single win to date was in the 250 Dutch TT in 2003. West has competed across the range of Grand Prix classes and after the race in Aragón his start record is as follows: 1 in the 125 class, 92 in 250s, 63 in Moto2™ and 43 in MotoGP™. West becomes only the second Australian rider, after Jack Findlay, to reach the milestone of 200 Grand Prix starts.

70 – Jorge Lorenzo’s second place finish in Aragón was the 70th time he has stood on the podium in the MotoGP™ class - one more podium finish than Casey Stoner achieved during his time in MotoGP™.  Only five riders have stood on the podium more times in the premier class: Valentino Rossi (146), Mick Doohan (95), Giacomo Agostini (88), Dani Pedrosa (80) and Eddie Lawson (78).

29 - Dominique Aegerter’s 13th place finish at the Aragón Grand Prix was the 29th successive race at which he has finished in a point-scoring position. The last race at which he failed to score points was when he finished 18th at the opening race of last year in Qatar; that 18th place finish in Qatar was the only time in the last 40 Moto2™ races that Aegerter has failed to score points. Only two riders in the 65-year history of Grand Prix racing have had longer sequences of successive point-scoring finishes in the intermediate class: Luca Cadalora (34) and Andrea Dovizioso (31).

17 - KTM riders have won the last 17 successive Moto3™ races. Only Honda have had a longer sequence of successive wins in the 125/Moto3™ class, with 19 across the 1990 and 1991 seasons.

10 – On the day of qualifying at the Malaysian GP, it will be exactly ten years since Dani Pedrosa won the 125 race in Sepang from Mika Kallio and Jorge Lorenzo, to take his first world title in 2003.

5 - Sepang is one of just five current circuits on which Jorge Lorenzo has not had a MotoGP™ win, along with the Sachsenring, MotorLand Aragón, Phillip Island and Austin.


Other updates you may be interested in ›