Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Racing Numbers: Gran Premio Generali de la Comunitat Valenciana

Racing Numbers: Gran Premio Generali de la Comunitat Valenciana

The biggest numbers this weekend will revolve around the championship battle between Marc Marquez and Jorge Lorenzo, but there are plenty of other elements to watch out for as well…

111 - Jorge Lorenzo’s victory in Japan was the 111th time he has stood on the podium in GP racing; the same number of podiums that Max Biaggi achieved during his entire Grand Prix career. Only six riders have finished on the podium on more occasions than Lorenzo: Valentino Rossi (183), Giacomo Agostini (159), Angel Nieto (139), Dani Pedrosa (124), Phil Read (121) and Mike Hailwood (112).

107 - Bradley Smith has a total of 107 points with one race remaining of the 2013 season. This is the highest points total ever achieved by a British rider in his rookie season in MotoGP™; a record previously held by James Toseland, who scored 105 points in the 2008 season.

51 - Jorge Lorenzo’s victory in Japan marked the 51st time he had stood on the top step of the podium in his Grand Prix career. This is just one less Grand Prix victory than two-time premier class World Champion Phil Read achieved during his career.

32 - Dominique Aegerter’s eighth place finish at the Japanese Grand Prix, after starting from the back of the grid, was the 32nd successive race at which he has finished in a points-scoring position. The last race at which he failed to score points was when he finished 18th at the opening race of last year in Qatar. The only rider in the 65-year history of Grand Prix racing who has had longer sequence of successive points-scoring finishes in the intermediate class is Luca Cadalora, with 34 in a row in the 250 class over the 1990-92 seasons.

20 - KTM riders have won the last 20 successive Moto3™ races. This is a new record for the longest sequence of successive wins in the 125/Moto3™ class by one manufacturer. The previous record was 19 successive wins by Honda across the 1990/91 seasons.

17 - Spanish riders have won the last 17 races across all three classes. This is a new record for the longest sequence of successive GP wins by one nation. The previous record was set by Spanish riders in the 2010 season, with 15 successive wins. The last non-Spanish GP winner was Scott Redding, in the Moto2™ class at Silverstone.

13 - Dani Pedrosa has had more success at Spanish circuits than any other rider in MotoGP™ history, with 13 wins (2 in 125cc, 4 in 250cc and 7 in MotoGP™), followed by Angel Nieto with 11 (4 in 50cc and 7 in 125cc).

9 - All nine Grand prix races to have taken place in Spain this year have been won by Spaniards, but remarkably nobody has taken more than one win at home (Jerez: Pedrosa, Rabat, Viñales; Catalunya: Lorenzo, Espargaro, Salom and Aragon: Marquez, Terol, Rins).

5 - The top three riders in the Moto3™ class are covered by just five points. Since the current scoring system was introduced in 1993, this is the smallest points’ margin covering the top three riders when arriving at the final race of the year in any class of Grand Prix racing.

4 - The first four riders across the line in the Japanese MotoGP™ race were all from Spain. This was the first time in the 65-year history of motorcycle Grand Prix racing that Spanish riders have taken the top four places in the premier class. The last time that one nation took the top four places in a MotoGP™ race was at Mugello in 2005, when the first four riders across the line were from Italy: Valentino Rossi, Max Biaggi, Loris Capirossi and Marco Melandri.


Other updates you may be interested in ›