Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

CEV Repsol: Podiums for Quartararo in Moto3, Syahrin in Moto2 and Silva in Stock Extreme

CEV Repsol: Podiums for Quartararo in Moto3, Syahrin in Moto2 and Silva in Stock Extreme

In front of 21,000 fans, Moto3™ rider Quartararo got his first - and double - victory in the championship. Malay Syahrin in Moto2™ and Silva in Stock Extreme both took 25 points and reached the top step the podium in the penultimate race of the season. In addition, the Valencia circuit today saw the crowning of the 2013 CEV Repsol Kawasaki Z Cup Champion.

The day began with the first Moto3™ race. María Herrera (SPA-KTM), starting from second position, led in the first stages but after just five laps Fabio Quartararo (FRA-FTR) had taken a commanding lead which he held to the chequered flag. The Frenchman was followed by Herrera, Medina (SPA-KTM), Martín (SPA-Kalex-KTM) and Ramírez (SPA-KTM), the only riders in the fight for second place. The group rode close together until two laps from the end, when Alejandro Medina of Team Calvo attacked to take the lead and finish runner-up. Adrián Martin rode well to add 16 points to his tally after finishing in third place.

In the second Moto3 race scheduled for today Fabio Quartararo notched up his second consecutive victory. The Frenchman his plan well worked out: he moved through the field in the first few laps before taking a comfortable two-second lead. Things were different behind the leader as four riders ―Herrera, Martin Medina and Navarro― fought hard for dominance. In the end the chequered flag gave Martín and Herrera second and third positions respectively.

In Moto2™, Hafizh Syahrin (MAL-Kalex), Alex Mariñelarena (SPA-Kalex) and Román Ramos (SPA-Ariane) shared the limelight, finally risking everything on the last lap. The Malay gave a masterful performance in controlling his rivals for more than 14 laps. Approaching the end of the race, the continuous shuffling of positions among the leading group made it impossible to predict a winner. Nothing was decided until the final meters, in which after multiple passing moves, Syahrin finally won out, followed closely by Mariñelarena. Ramos took third place, leaving the championship wide open until the final race. The winner of the Spanish Superstock 600 Cup race was Francisco Javier Hidalgo (SPA-Kawasaki).

Iván Silva (SPA-BMW Motorrad) chalked up his first victory this season in the Stock Extreme category. Starting in third position, Silva gradually increased his pace as the laps went by. After taking out Kenny Noyes (USA-Suzuki) and passing Xavier Forés (SPA-Ducati) spectacularly, he hung on to first place to the end of the race. Carmelo Morales, in second place, shattered his own circuit record, stopping the clock in 1,34.596. Taking the last step of the podium was championship leader Forés, who after two falls this weekend chose to ride conservatively and maintain his hold on the general classification. The first place in the Spanish Privateers Cup went to Francisco Alviz (SPA-Kawasaki).

Alexander Mateos won the last race of the Kawasaki Z Cup and was duly proclaimed 2013 Champion. Pere Llorens, recovering from the setbacks of previous races, rode brilliantly to snatch a hard-fought second place. Francisco Valera got the last slot on the podium and ended his season as runner-up in the Cup.

The next round of the CEV Repsol will take place at Jerez on 23 and 24 November, when the last round of the championship will be held and the three remaining championship titles will be decided. Up to seven contenders will be fighting it out for the Moto3 crown.

MotoGP, 2013

Other updates you may be interested in ›