Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Did you Know? Indianapolis 2014

Did you Know? Indianapolis 2014

Indianapolis will host the tenth of 18 Grands Prix in the 2014 MotoGP™ season, with Marc Marquez having won last year’s premier class race on his first attempt. However, there are numerous facts and figures available when it comes to MotoGP™ and the Motor Speedway…

- This year’s race at Indianapolis will be the seventh consecutive Grand Prix at the venue, with the first having taken place in 2008

- This will be the 26th occasion on which there has been a motorcycle Grand Prix held in the USA. The first two events in 1964 and 1965 were held at the famous Daytona circuit. 15 GP events have taken place at the Laguna Seca circuit, there have been six held previously at Indianapolis and two at Circuit of the Americas

- Yamaha riders won the MotoGP races on the first two visits to Indianapolis, whereas Honda riders have won for the last four years

- Nicky Hayden’s third place finish in 2009 is the only MotoGP podium by a Ducati rider at the Indianapolis circuit

- In the first four appearances of MotoGP in Indianapolis, one American rider finished on the podium each year: Nicky Hayden was second in 2008 and third in 2009, whereas and Ben Spies was second in 2010 and third in 2011. In the 2012 MotoGP race at Indianapolis, the first American rider across the line was Colin Edwards in 13th place and last year it was Nicky Hayden, in ninth

- Dani Pedrosa is the only rider to have had more than a single victory in the MotoGP class at the Indianapolis circuit: in 2010 and 2012

- Jorge Lorenzo’s five MotoGP podium finishes at the Indianapolis circuit is more than any other rider

- Five of the riders who will be competing this year have taken part in all six previous MotoGP races that have been staged at the Indianapolis circuit: Jorge Lorenzo, Andrea Dovizioso, Colin Edwards, Valentino Rossi and Dani Pedrosa


Other updates you may be interested in ›