Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Kallio cruises to victory in restarted Indy contest

Kallio cruises to victory in restarted Indy contest

In a restarted Moto2™ race at the Red Bull Indianapolis Grand Prix pole man Mika Kallio scored a runaway win, with Maverick Viñales and Dominique Aegerter joining the Finn on the podium.

Kallio (Marc VDS Racing Team) held his nerve to charge to victory around the modified Indianapolis Motor Speedway track in a shortened 16-lap contest, with the initial race cut short by a red flag due to a crash involving Azlan Shah (IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia), Anthony West (QMMF Racing Team), Mattia Pasini (NGM Forward Racing) and Randy Krummenacher (IodaRacing Project).

The incident took place at Turn 10 on lap 4 of the first race with the red flag coming out as Pasini was initially unconscious after the crash as medics quickly arrived. Pasini walked away and was taken to hospital for precautionary scans, whilst Krummenacher’s machine was damaged and he was unable to participate in the restarted race despite the best efforts of the Octo IodaRacing Team.

The race was restarted for 16 laps with the riders in their original grid positions and Kallio repeated the great start which had seen him build up a lead of over two seconds in the original race.

He would eventually cross the finish line 1.38s ahead of impressive rookie Viñales (Paginas Amarillas HP 40), whilst Technomag carXpert rider Aegerter’s good form continued in third.

A mistake from Tito Rabat (Marc VDS Racing Team) with two laps to go under pressure from Viñales dropped him from second to fourth, allowing Kallio to close to within seven points of the championship leading Spaniard in the standings.

Simone Corsi (NGM Forward Racing) and Sandro Cortese (Dynavolt Intact GP) both finished in the top six. Meanwhile, Hafizh Syahrin (Petronas Raceline Malaysia), Alex De Angelis (Tasca Racing Moto2), West and Johann Zarco (AirAsia Caterham Moto Racing) completed the top ten.

In the restarted race there were crashes on the first lap for Thomas Luthi (Interwetten Paddock Moto2), Josh Herrin (AirAsia Caterham Moto Racing) and Julian Simon (Italtrans Racing Team) at Turn 1. All riders were ok but Jonas Folger (AGR Team), Xavier Simeon (Federal Oil Gresini Moto2) and Luis Salom (Paginas Amarillas HP 40) were also caught up in the accident.

Simeon subsequently crashed out four laps later, and Salom and Franco Morbidelli (Italtrans Racing Team) would then collide on lap 6 of the restarted contest. Salom finished 26th whilst Morbidelli was unable to continue.

Thitipong Warokorn (APH PTT The Pizza SAG) crashed in the final stages but remounted to finish 27th.

For full race results from the Moto2 contest at Indianapolis click here.


Other updates you may be interested in ›