Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Miller strives to outperform Rins and Marquez

Miller strives to outperform Rins and Marquez

On home territory this weekend at the Gran Premio Movistar de Aragon Alex Rins and Alex Marquez will be looking to apply further pressure on Jack Miller at the head of the Moto3™ standings.

With five rounds remaining in 2014, Australia’s Miller continues to hold the World Championship lead and the Red Bull KTM Ajo rider has won four races so far this season.

Miller has not clinched a victory since the German Grand Prix in July, but he has finished on the podium in seven out of 13 races so far and still leads the way by nine points.

Estrella Galicia 0,0’s Marquez has finished second to teammate Rins in the last two races, having earlier in the season won back-to-back GPs in Catalunya and The Netherlands.

Having headed into the last race weekend 29 points behind Miller, local Aragon rider Rins is now just 20 behind thanks to consecutive race victories at Silverstone and Misano.

Rins is targeting a second consecutive Aragon GP win and should he achieve this, he would become only the third rider (after Maverick Viñales and Luis Salom) to win three successive races in the Moto3 category since it began in 2012.

With their respective moves up to MotoGP™ and Moto2™ now confirmed Miller, Rins and Marquez look set to take the title fight down to the wire over the remaining five rounds.

Meanwhile the likes of Efren Vazquez (SaxoPrint-RTG), Romano Fenati (SKY Racing Team VR46) and Alexis Masbou (Ongetta-Rivacold) are all still in with a chance of taking the crown but they do have considerable points deficits to make up over the final phase of the championship.

At the top of the Constructors’ Championship, KTM and Honda are tied on 278 points. Austrian manufacturer KTM is pushing for a third straight crown to maintain its 100% title win rate in Moto3, while the Japanese marque is striving to claim its first Constructors’ title in the lightweight category since winning four in succession across the 125cc World Championship seasons of 1998 to 2001.


Other updates you may be interested in ›