Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

800th Grand Prix in the intermediate class

800th Grand Prix in the intermediate class

This weekend the Tissot Australian Grand Prix will see the 800th race in the intermediate class (Moto2™ and 250cc) of GP racing.

When the World Championship was first introduced in 1949, the intermediate-class was limited to 250cc machines. Major changes to the rules were introduced for the 2010 season, with all engines being supplied by a single supplier and all of them 600cc four-cylinder four-stroke, with the class re-named Moto2.

The two most successful riders in the history of the intermediate class are Phil Read and Max Biaggi with four titles each. Both are mentioned in this selection of Grand Prix milestones in the intermediate category:

Date - Race Number - Event & Circuit

June 1949 - 1 - Great Britain, IOM TT

Irish rider Manliff Barrington (Moto Guzzi) wins the very first 250cc race counting towards the World Championship.

September 1949 - 4 - Italy, Monza

Bruno Ruffo (Moto Guzzi) finishes fourth at his home GP to become the first 250cc World Champion.

June 1953 - 21 - Dutch TT, Assen

Werner Haas gives NSU their first 250cc GP victory on his way to becoming the first rider to win the 125cc and 250cc titles in the same season.

May 1961 - 70 - Germany, Hockenheim

Kunimitsu Takahashi becomes the first Japanese rider to win a GP; this is also Honda’s first 250cc GP victory.

July 1963 - 94 - Belgium, Spa-Francorchamps

Fumio Ito gives Yamaha their first Grand Prix victory.

August 1966 - 131 - Finland, Imatra

Mike Hailwood (Honda) takes a record ninth successive 250cc GP victory.

September 1968 - 158 - Italy, Monza

Phil Read wins the final race of the year to finish equal on points with teammate Bill Ivy. Read wins the title on combined times in races both riders had completed.

May 1981 - 300 - French GP, Paul Ricard

Anton Mang (Kawasaki) wins on his way to retaining the World title. This was the first of nine consecutive 250cc victories, equalling the record previously set by Mike Hailwood.

August 1985 - 353 - Great Britain, Silverstone

After seven wins during the season, Freddie Spencer (Honda) finishes fourth at Silverstone to become the only rider to win the 500cc and 250cc titles in the same year.

May 1996 - 500 - Italian GP, Mugello

Max Biaggi takes the victory in the 500th GP in the 250cc class riding an Aprilia on his way to winning his third consecutive World title on the Italian machine.

October 1999 - 554 - Rio, Jacarepagua

Valentino Rossi clinches the World title, to become the youngest ever 250cc World Champion at that time.

November 2001 - 587 - Rio, Jacarepagua

World Champion Daijiro Kato wins a record 11th victory of the year.

April 2004 - 620 - South Africa, Welkom

Dani Pedrosa wins on his 250cc GP debut to become the youngest rider to win in the class on his way to becoming the youngest ever 250cc World Champion.

October 2008 - 700 - Valencia, Ricardo Tormo

Marco Simoncelli finishes his championship winning season in style with a victory at the last race of the year.

November 2009 - 716 - Valencia, Ricardo Tormo

Hector Barbera wins the last ever 250cc Grand Prix race. Hiroshi Aoyama finishes seventh to become the last 250cc World Champion.

April 2010 - 717 - Qatar, Losail

Nineteen year old Shoya Tomizawa (Suter) wins the first ever Moto2 race.

October 2010 - 730 - Malaysia, Sepang

Toni Elias (Moriwaki) finishes fourth at Sepang to become the first ever Moto2 World Champion.

November 2012 - 767 - Valencia, Ricardo Tormo      

Marc Marquez wins the final race of the year to set a new record point score in a single season in the intermediate-class of GP racing of 328 points.

October 2014 - 799 - Japan, Motegi

Thomas Luthi takes the victory, after more than two years without a GP win.


Other updates you may be interested in ›