Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Superb Sepang pole time from record breaker Marquez

Superb Sepang pole time from record breaker Marquez

MotoGP™ pole position at the Shell Advance Malaysian Motorcycle Grand Prix went to Marc Marquez, who notched a new premier class record 13th pole of the year. Dani Pedrosa and Jorge Lorenzo join him on the front row after the Q2 battle.

Marquez (Repsol Honda) set a record-breaking time of 1’59.791s to secure pole ahead of teammate Pedrosa (Repsol Honda) who was 0.182s slower. The front row was completed by Lorenzo (Movistar Yamaha) who set a 2’00.203s best lap.

For full Q2 results from Sepang click here.

Marquez is the first rider below the 2’00 mark on a race weekend at Sepang. This also marks his 50th career pole and 13th of the season, setting a new record.

Stefan Bradl (LCR Honda MotoGP) and Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) both qualified on the second row of the grid, both within a second of Marquez’ blistering lap.

Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP), Aleix Espargaro (NGM Forward Racing), Cal Crutchlow (Ducati Team), Bradley Smith (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) and Alvaro Bautista (GO&FUN Honda Gresini) completed the top ten.

Pol Espargaro (Monster Yamaha Tech3) qualified in 12th having advanced to Q2 but then being unfit to participate due to a big FP3 crash, which saw him break a bone in his left foot. His fitness to race will be assessed on Sunday morning.

Hiroshi Aoyama (Drive M7 Aspar) fell early in the Q2 session having advanced from Q1. The Japanese rider still qualified in 11th due to Pol Espargaro not taking part.

Andrea Iannone (Pramac Racing) was declared unfit to participate further in the Grand Prix earlier in the day due to left arm injuries after his Friday crash left him struggling for strength and power.

Check out the odds of your favorite riders on bwin and click here to get a sign up bonus of £30.


MotoGP, 2014, SHELL ADVANCE MALAYSIAN MOTORCYCLE GP, Q2, Marc Marquez, Repsol Honda Team

Other updates you may be interested in ›