Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

FIM CEV Repsol: Superb debut of the Algarve International Circuit

FIM CEV Repsol: Superb debut of the Algarve International Circuit

Under clear skies and in pleasant temperatures, a hundred riders took part in the qualifying sessions in the unique Algarve International Circuit. The best times were posted by Fabio Quartararo (FRA-Honda) in Moto3™, Xavi Vierge (SPA-Tech3) in Moto2™-Superstock 600 and Carmelo Morales (SPA-Kawasaki) in Superbike.

Fabio Quartararo’s (FRA-Honda) marvellous string of victories this season has brought the French rider the FIM CEV Repsol Moto3™ 2014 championship for the second successive year. His only possible rival, Jorge Navarro (SPA-Kalex-KTM), chose not to challenge the brilliant champion this weekend, leaving Quartararo the option to take a place in the Moto3 World Championship in 2015. Accompanying him on the front row of the grid tomorrow will be Argentine Gabriel Rodrigo (KTM) - who has also confirmed his promotion to the World Championship next season - and Italian Niccolò Bulega (KTM), who seems to have grown in stature since his podium at Navarra.

In Moto2™, Xavi Vierge (SPA-Tech3) was very competitive in both sessions, taking leading positions and eventually earning first place on the starting grid. In second slot will be early riser Edgar Pons (SPA-Kalex) who posted his best time early in the day’s first session, stopping the clock in 1:46.655. Closing out the front row will be Florian Alt (GER-Kalex), looking for a brilliant finale before his move to the Moto2 World Championship next season. Jesko Raffin (SWI-Kalex), current leader of the overall classification, will start from eighth place, while the top Supersport 600 rider was Maximiliano Gerardo (URU), highest ranked newcomer and recent signing for team Kawasaki Palmetto PL Racing.

The strong men of the Superbike category closed the day’s qualifying sessions. Carmelo Morales (SPA-Kawasaki) was once again the quickest, taking his second consecutive pole. With just six milliseconds separating both of them came Robertino Pietri (VEN-Kawasaki) and Iván Silva (SPA-BMW) in second and third place respectively. The second row will be made up by Ángel Rodríguez (SPA-Suzuki), Kenny Noyes (USA-Kawasaki) and Dani Rivas (SPA-BMW). Coming in eighth position, Alejandro Martínez (SPA-Kawasaki) was the fastest of the privateer riders.

MotoGP, 2014

Other updates you may be interested in ›