Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Winner Marquez presented with 2014 BMW M Award

Winner Marquez presented with 2014 BMW M Award

Marc Marquez was once again the fastest qualifier in MotoGPTM in 2014, earning him the coveted BMW M Award for the second year in a row. On Saturday afternoon at the Gran Premio Generali de la Comunitat Valenciana Marquez was presented with the BMW M Award winner’s prize of a BMW M4 Coupé.

The BMW M Award award, in the form of an exclusive and individually customised BMW M car, has been presented by MotoGP’s Official Car partner BMW M GmbH since 2003. Marquez’s outstanding performances in qualifying throughout 2014 saw him beat Mick Doohan and Casey Stoner’s record of 12 poles in a single premier class season, achieving 13 in total.

Marquez, who last year became the first rookie to win the BMW M Award, dominated the 2014 season from the word go. The Spaniard was also in a class of his own in qualifying, as he rocketed to his second World Championship title in MotoGP. With 398 points, the Spaniard won the 2014 BMW M Award by a comfortable 122 point margin.

The official presentation ceremony took place on Saturday at the final round of the MotoGP season in Valencia, Spain. The prize was presented by Carmelo Ezpeleta, CEO of Dorna Sports, and Thomas Schemera, Director of Sales and Marketing BMW M GmbH.

Marquez commented, “Qualifying is a crucial part of our strategy to win races and to win championships and my rivals always push me hard to be at the front of the grid, so every pole I get is important for me and the team. To have beaten Mick Doohan and Casey Stoner’s record this year was amazing for me and I couldn’t have done it without all the hard work of HRC and my crew. I’m very excited to have won the BMW M4 Coupé and I can’t wait to take it for a drive!”

“The presentation of the BMW M Award at the final race is always a highlight of the MotoGP season,” said Carmelo Ezpeleta, CEO of Dorna Sports. “BMW M is an important and reliable partner of MotoGP, and it is fantastic that the performances of the top qualifier have now been honoured with such an exclusive, high-performance sports car for the twelfth time. In the BMW M4 Coupé, BMW M GmbH has once again provided a captivating car for the winner, which features the latest technology and perfectly combines the values shared by MotoGP and BMW M. Marc Marquez won the 2014 BMW M Award in an impressive manner. I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate him on another outstanding season.”

“Congratulations to Marc Marquez on winning the BMW M Award again,” said Thomas Schemera, Director of Sales and Marketing BMW M GmbH. “Last year he came through as a rookie to defeat his more experienced opponents. In 2014 he raised the bar again with 13 pole positions. It was breath-taking to see how Marc went from one success to the next this year. As partner of MotoGP, we are delighted to once again recognise his achievements with the BMW M Award. Honouring the season’s top qualifier has become an important tradition for us, and we are proud that the BMW M Award is held in such high esteem by the MotoGP riders. They repeatedly confirm that our BMW M high-performance sports cars are much sought-after prizes – and we provided another highlight this year with the new BMW M4 Coupé.”

The BMW M Award for the best qualifier has been presented since 2003. Just like the points system for the races, riders at each Grand Prix weekend are awarded points relative to their positions in qualifying. Pole position is rewarded with 25 points, second place on the grid earns 20 points and third place scores 16 points – right down to one point for 15th. The rider with the most points at the end of the season wins the BMW M Award – in the form of an exclusive and individually customised BMW M car. Valentino Rossi and Casey Stoner are the current record holders, each with three BMW M Awards to their name. In 2013, Marc Marquez was crowned the youngest ever winner of the BMW M Award, and the first rider to receive this award in his first season at the pinnacle of motorcycle racing. Marquez has now won the BMW M Award for the second time. His compatriot Jorge Lorenzo has also earned the coveted title of top qualifier twice so far. Sete Gibernau and Nicky Hayden have both won the BMW M Award once.


Other updates you may be interested in ›