Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

FIM Awards Ceremony rounds off 2014 MotoGP™ season in Valencia

FIM Awards Ceremony rounds off 2014 MotoGP™ season in Valencia

Following Sunday’s Gran Premio Generali de la Comunitat Valenciana the 2014 MotoGP™ season was brought to an end at the FIM Awards Ceremony, where among other prize winners, Marc Marquez was presented with the MotoGP World Champion trophy which he retained in style this year.

At the Palacio de Congresos the 2014 FIM Awards were hosted by Izaskun Ruiz and Gavin Emmett, with the presenters joined by Dorna Sports CEO Mr. Carmelo Ezpeleta and FIM President Mr. Vito Ippolito, to hand over the numerous awards throughout the evening event.

Repsol Honda Team’s remarkable double MotoGP World Champion Marquez took centre stage as he collected his premier class prize, along with his friend and Moto2™ World Champion Tito Rabat and his brother Alex Marquez, the Moto3™ World Champion.

The MotoGP Rookie of the Year award was presented to Monster Yamaha Tech 3’s Pol Espargaro, whilst his brother Aleix Espargaro (NGM Forward Racing) was recognised as the top rider in the Open category.

For his achievements this year in Moto2™ Maverick Viñales (Paginas Amarillas HP 40) received his Rookie of the Year prize, with Moto3™ Rookie of the Year Enea Bastianini (Junior Team GO&FUN Moto3) also honoured.

The BMW M Award for best qualifier in the MotoGP class went to Marquez again, as well as the Tissot Pole of Poles, which also went to Rabat in Moto2 and Jack Miller in Moto3.

The Best Grand Prix prize was won by Indianapolis. As was the case last year Repsol Honda picked up the MotoGP Team World title trophy and also like in 2013 the Constructor Titles went to Honda in MotoGP, Kalex in Moto2, and KTM in Moto3.

The Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup Champion Jorge Martin, Runner-up Joan Mir and third placed rider Stefano Manzi also made appearances on stage to receive their medals for their fine racing in 2014.


Other updates you may be interested in ›