Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

FIM CEV Repsol: Quartararo in Moto3™, Raffin in Moto2™ and Noyes in Superbike proclaimed this season’s champions

FIM CEV Repsol: Quartararo in Moto3™, Raffin in Moto2™ and Noyes in Superbike proclaimed this season’s champions

The Circuit of Valencia today hosted the final and decisive round of the championship, in which Quartararo in Moto3™, Raffin in Moto2™ and Noyes in Superbike were proclaimed this season’s champions. With the added attraction of sunny skies and pleasant temperatures, twenty four thousand fans turned up to enjoy the day’s victories.

There were two Moto3™ races in this closing event of the season. The first was stopped by the red flag after three laps because of a crash involving several riders. The race restarted thirty minutes later, with the same grid positions, but now rescheduled to 9 laps. With no time to waste, after a few laps Fabio Quartararo (FRA-Honda) and Jorge Navarro (SPA-Honda) broke free and fought a close battle for first place. With one lap remaining Jorge Navarro made a mistake and went down (SPA-Honda). Immediately after, the chasing group was reduced when Gabriel Rodrigo (ARG-KTM) and John McPhee (UK-Honda) crashed out. Finally, Fabio Quartararo (FRA-Honda) took victory. He received the trophy from Dani Pedrosa. Accompanying him on the podium were Aleix Masbou (FRA-Honda) and Albert Arenas (SPA-KTM).

The second Moto3 race suffered the same fate: the red flag and a reduction to 9 laps. A few minutes later the grid reformed, but with Navarro missing after suffering another fall. Pole position rider Gabriel Rodrigo (ARG-KTM) made an excellent start and held the lead with Quartararo somewhat off the pace of the leading group. Behind the leader came John McPhee (UK-Honda) and Albert Arenas (SPA-KTM), until, around the halfway point, the French rider came past them to hold the lead to the flag. Rodrigo kept the pressure on Quartararo and refused to let the Frenchman pull clear in his usual style, taking a well-earned second place with John McPhee (UK-Honda) in third.

The Moto2 race began at full throttle. Following his recent string of excellent performances, a confident Xavi Vierge (SPA-TECH 3) held the lead until around the halfway point when South African rider Steven Odendaal (RSA-Speedup) took over for three laps, but with Jesko Raffin (SWI-Kalex), Florian Alt (GER-Kalex) and Edgar Pons (SPA-Kalex) shadowing him. Riding his Kalex well, the German led in the second half of the race until, once again, a breathtaking final lap decided the winner: Jesko Raffin (SWI-Kalex), with Florian Alt (GER-Kalex) and Edgar Pons (SPA-Kalex) coming in second and third. Best Superstock 600 rider was Bertin Thibaut (FRA-Yamaha) who was crowned this season’s champion.

Kenny Noyes (USA-Kawasaki) was crowned 2014 FIM CEV Repsol Superbike champion, though Carmelo Morales (SPA-Kawasaki) took victory in today’s race. The Team Calvo rider won in style, though he was always threatened by rivals Kenny Noyes (USA-Kawasaki) and Iván Silva (SPA-BMW), who went down just three laps before the end. Faithful to his usual conservative approach during the initial laps, Carmelo Morales (SPA-Kawasaki) waited to the halfway point of the 19-lap race before going on the attack. Lap by lap the Team Calvo rider pulled away from the following group to finish six seconds ahead of Kenny Noyes (USA-Kawasaki). The quickest Superbike privateer rider this weekend was Ole Plassen (NOR-Ducati), while the championship went to Alejandro Esteban (SPA-Kawasaki), just one point ahead of runner-up Eeki Kuparineen (FIN-BMW).

Ending his season in the best way possible, winner of the Kawasaki Z Cup race and championship was Joan Sandanyons. In second position was José J. Jiménez who in turn was proclaimed runner-up overall. Victor Lozano, who in his only appearance of the season, took a hard fought third place.

MotoGP, 2015

Other updates you may be interested in ›