Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Dominant Zarco claims 3rd pole of the season in Moto2™

 Dominant Zarco claims 3rd pole of the season in Moto2™

Johann Zarco took his third pole position of the season after annihilating the Moto2™ lap record at the TT circuit Assen.

The Moto2™ paddock enjoyed ideal conditions with track temperatures reaching 36 °C as the sun came out for Qualifying. Current championship leader Zarco smashed Marc Marquez’s 2012 pole record (1’37.133) on the way to claiming his fourth career Moto2™ pole position, setting the fastest ever lap by a Moto2™ bike around the 4.5km TT Circuit Assen in the process.

EG 0,0 Marc VDS’s Tito Rabat (+0.287s), the reigning Moto2™ World Champion, will start from second with Sam Lowes (+0.532s) on the Speed Up Racing bike completing the front row.

Athina Forward Racing’s Simone Corsi (+1.047s) recovered from an early crash to start from the front of the second row, ahead of Jonas Folger (+1.088s) on the AGR Team Kalex in fifth and Federal Oil Gresini Racing Moto2’s Xavier Simeon (+1.163s) in sixth.

Alex Rins (Paginas Amarillas HP40), Thomas Luthi (Derendinger Racing Interwetten), Lorenzo Baldassari (Athina Forward Racing) and Takaaki Nakagami (Idemitsu Honda Team Asia) complete the top ten.

There were crashes for EG 0,0 Marc VDS’s Alex Marquez (13th) and Ratthapark Wilairot (27th) also crashed during the session, with both riders unhurt.

Check out the full Moto2™ Qualifying results; the 24-lap race starts on Saturday at 12:20 local time.

Moto2, 2015, MOTUL TT ASSEN, QP, Tito Rabat, Sam Lowes, Johann Zarco, Ajo Motorsport

Other updates you may be interested in ›