Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

#StatAttack: Who has the most MotoGP™ wins in Valencia?

#StatAttack:  Who has the most MotoGP™ wins in Valencia?

Take a look ahead to the Gran Premio Motul de la Comunitat Valenciana with a plethora of all the stats you need.

This year will be the 17th Grand Prix of Valencia, which has been held every year at the Ricardo Tormo circuit since the first visit in 1999. Below are some facts and stats about grand prix racing in Valencia:

  • This will be the 14th successive year that Valencia has hosted the final race of the season, making it the circuit that has been the venue for the final event of the year on the most occasions.

  • The Valencia circuit is named after Spanish racer Ricardo Tormo, who won the 50cc world title riding for Bultaco in 1978 and 1981. In addition to his 15 grand prix victories in the 50cc class he also had four wins in the 125cc class. His career ended in 1984 due to leg injuries suffered in a crash whilst test riding. Tormo sadly died from leukaemia in 1998.

  • Dani Pedrosa is the most successful rider at the Valencia circuit with six wins: three in MotoGP™, two in 250cc, and one in the 125cc class. The only rider other than Pedrosa with more than two wins at Valencia is Casey Stoner (1 x 125cc, 2 x MotoGP™).

  • Of the current riders, the next most successful after Pedrosa, with two wins each, are: Valentino Rossi (2 x MotoGP™), Maverick Viñales (1 x 125cc, 1 x Moto3™), Mika Kallio (1 x 125cc, 1 x 250cc), Jorge Lorenzo (2 x MotoGP™); Marc Marquez (1 x Moto2™, 1 x MotoGP™) and Hector Barbera (1 x 125cc, 1 x 250cc).

  • The premier-class race at Valencia has been won seven times by Spanish riders; Sete Gibernau won the 500cc race on a Suzuki in 2001; Dani Pedrosa won the MotoGP™ race in 2007, 2009 and 2012; Jorge Lorenzo won in 2010 and 2013; Marc Marquez won last year.

  • Since the introduction of the four-stroke MotoGP™ formula in 2002, Honda has been the most successful manufacturer with eight victories at the Valencia circuit. Yamaha has had three wins and Ducati two.

  • Andrea Dovizioso’s fourth place finish last year was the best result for a Ducati rider at Valencia since Casey Stoner was second in 2010.

  • Suzuki’s only podium at Valencia in the MotoGP™ era is third with John Hopkins in 2007.

  • Last year Marc Marquez won the race in Valencia after qualifying in fifth place on the grid – the first time that the MotoGP™ race in Valencia has been won by a rider not starting from the front row.

  • Only two riders have competed at all sixteen previous grand prix events at the Valencia circuit: Valentino Rossi and Randy de Puniet.

MotoGP, 2015, GRAN PREMIO MOTUL DE LA COMUNITAT VALENCIANA, #StatAttack, #ValenciaGP, #TheGrandFinale

Other updates you may be interested in ›