Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Four different manufacturers lead in MotoGP™

Four different manufacturers lead in MotoGP™

Be sure to brush up on your MotoGP™ facts as the season starts at the Commercial Bank Grand Prix of Qatar.

The 22 lap race at the Losail International Circuit begins at 21:00 Local Time.

  • The top four places in qualifying are filled by factory bikes from four different manufacturers. The last time this occurred was at the Czech GP in 2008 when the top four places were taken by the following manufacturers: Ducati, Yamaha, Kawasaki and Suzuki.
  • Jorge Lorenzo starts from pole in the MotoGP class at Qatar for the fourth time; from his three previous poles he has had two wins and a second place finish. Lorenzo is aiming to become the first rider since Casey Stoner in 2009 to win the opening race of the year having won the final race of the previous season.
  • This is Jorge Lorenzo’s 62nd pole in grand prix racing across all classes, which is the greatest number of poles among current riders, one more than achieved by Valentino Rossi.
  • In second place on the grid is Marc Marquez who won the MotoGP race in Qatar two years ago.
  • In third place on the grid is Maverick Viñales – the first time that a Suzuki rider has started from the front row of the grid in Qatar. Viñales will be aiming to give Suzuki their first podium finish since Loris Capirossi was third at the Czech GP in 2008.
  • Heading the second row is Andrea Iannone, who finished third last year in Qatar – his first podium finish in the MotoGP class.
  • Valentino Rossi is in fifth place on the grid, which is his best qualifying result at the opening race of the year since 2010.
  • Taking the final place on the second row is Andrea Dovizioso, who finished second in Qatar last year.
  • Heading the third row is Dani Pedrosa, who finished on the podium four times in the final five races of 2015.
  • The top rider of a satellite bike, in eighth place on the grid, is Hector Barbera who won the 250cc race in Qatar back in 2009.
  • Pol Espargaro, who starts the race from ninth place on the grid, won the Moto2 race in Qatar on his way to winning the Moto2 world title in 2013.
  • Of the top nine riders on the grid, the only two who have not previously won a grand prix at Qatar in any class are Andrea Dovizioso and Dani Pedrosa.

Other updates you may be interested in ›