Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Bradley Smith continues point-scoring run

Bradley Smith continues point-scoring run

For the 25th race in a row, Smith scored points in the premier class and the Brit now closes in on some big names in the record books.

Bradley Smith’s (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) eighth place finish in Qatar was the 25th successive race at which he has scored points. The last race at which he did not finish in the top fifteen was the British GP in 2014 when he had to call into the pits due to a faulty rear wheel. As shown in the following table this is one of the longest sequences of successive point scoring finishes in the history of the premier-class. Among current riders only Valentino Rossi has a longer sequence of successive point scoring finishes:

Longest Successive Point-scoring Finishes in the premier-class

37 -     Mick Doohan (Italy 1995 to Indonesia 1997)

34 -     Colin Edwards (Qatar 2004 to Malaysia 2006)

30 -     Wayne Gardner (West Germany 1986 to West Germany 1988)

28 -     Eddie Lawson (Italy 1983 to Yugoslavia 1985)

28 -     Valentino Rossi (Portugal 2002 to Dutch TT 2004)

26 -     Eddie Lawson (Great Britain 1987 to Brazil 1989)

26 -     Valentino Rossi (Catalunya 2013 to San Marino 2014)

25 -     Jorge Lorenzo (Malaysia 2009 to Catalunya 2011)

25 -     Valentino Rossi (Germany 2010 to Aragon 2011)

25 (ongoing) -     Bradley Smith (San Marino 2014 – ongoing)

MotoGP, 2016, GRAN PREMIO MOTUL DE LA REPÚBLICA ARGENTINA, Bradley Smith, Monster Yamaha Tech 3

Other updates you may be interested in ›