Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

MotoGP™ Sunday guide for the #AmericasGP

MotoGP™ Sunday guide for the #AmericasGP

Can Marc Marquez make it four wins in a row at the Texas track?

The Red Bull Grand Prix of The Americas begins at 14:00 Local Time and will last 21-laps.

  • Marc Marquez starts from pole for the fourth successive year in Austin. He has won on his last nine visits to the USA - seven times in the MotoGP class following on from two in Moto2.
  • Jorge Lorenzo is in second place on the grid, which is his best qualifying result at the Austin circuit. Lorenzo’s third place finish in 2013 is his only podium at the Grand Prix of the Americas.
  • In third place on the grid is Valentino Rossi, his first front row start in Austin. Rossi has not won in the USA since his victory at Indianapolis in 2008.
  • Heading the second row is Maverick Viñales who won the Moto2 race in Austin two years ago. No Suzuki rider has finished on the podium in MotoGP since Loris Capirossi was third at the Czech GP in 2008.
  • Cal Crutchlow is in fifth place of the grid, which is the best qualifying result so far in 2016 by a rider from an Independent Team.
  • Taking the final place on the second row is Andrea Dovizioso who has finished on the podium for the last two years in Austin.
  • After being given a penalty of three grid positions, Andrea Iannone heads the third row of the grid. Iannone has failed to finish five times in the last six races.
  • Dani Pedrosa, who has qualified in eighth place on the grid, missed the race in Austin last year but finished second here in both 2013 and 2014.
  • In ninth place on the grid is Aleix Espargaro – his best qualifying result so far in 2016.
  • Scott Redding is in tenth place on the grid – his best qualifying result since the British GP last year.
  • Taking the middle place on the fourth row is Bradley Smith who has scored points in the last twenty-six successive races.
  • Loris Baz is in 12th place on the grid; the best qualifying result in the MotoGP class for a French rider since Randy de Puniet was the 12th fastest qualifier at Phillip Island in 2013.

Other updates you may be interested in ›