Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Moto3™ get in gear at first Official Test of 2017

Circuito de Jerez plays host for the lightweight class

The Moto3™ grid will soon be face to face for another season, as Jerez prepares for the first Official Test of the year - beginning on the 8th March. With some private testing having taken place ahead of the official first outing for the lightweight class, the key contenders have had some experience of what to expect in 2017 – but not all on track together.

Nicolo Bulega went fastest at a recent private test in Jerez, and the Sky Racing VR46 sophomore is gearing up for an assault at the front in 2017. Romano Fenati (Marinelli Rivacold Snipers) is another Italian to watch, as the veteran Moto3™ rider returns to the class looking to take the title. Yet another member of the jam-packed grid flying the tricolore is Enea Bastianini, but with the armada of Estrella Galicia 0,0 as he changes teams to the Spanish-run outfit. Runner up in 2016 and looking to go one better, the “Beast” is another who has experience at the front..

Joan Mir (Leopard Racing) is expected to prove a Spaniard to watch this season after taking his first win and the title of Rookie of the Year in 2016 – with fellow 2016 rookies Bulega, Bo Bendsneyder (Red Bull KTM Ajo) and Fabio DiGiannantonio (Del Conca Racing Team Gresini Moto3) attempting the same steps forward. “Diggia”, however, must first recover from a broken collarbone sustained whilst testing privately mid-February.

Bendsneyder talks Valencia Moto3™ test

The KTM charge is led by Niccolo Antonelli and Bendsneyder, one a race winner and the other a rookie podium finisher in 2016. The Red Bull KTM Ajo squad, perennial Championship challengers, will be keen to hold onto their crown as outgoing Champion Brad Binder moves to Moto2™. Mahindra also look to keep 2016 successes rolling, after becoming the first Indian constructor to win a GP last season – managing the feat with Moto2™ graduate Francesco Bagnaia. Pull&Bear Aspar Mahindra field Lorenzo Dalla Porta and Albert Arenas this year.

2016 Czech GP winner John McPhee is another aimn high with the new British Talent Team, and other innovations on the grid include exciting rookies such as Ayumu Sasaki (KBS SIC Racing Team), the 2015 ATC and 2016 Red Bull Rookies Cup Champion.

The Official Test runs from March 8th to March 10th at the Circuito de Jerez.