Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

#StatAttack: MotoGP™ saddle up for COTA

A little geekery on the premier class' history at the Circuit of the Americas in Austin, TX

- This is the fifth successive year that a MotoGP™ event has been held at the Austin circuit and below are a selection of facts and stats related to this event:

- In total, there have been 29 previous Grand Prix events hosted in the USA: Daytona – 2, Laguna Seca – 15, Indianapolis – 8 and Austin – 4.

- Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) has won on each of the eight occasions that he has raced in the MotoGP™ class in America; four times at Austin, three times at Indianapolis and once at Laguna Seca in 2013.  Only once in these eight appearances in MotoGP in America has Marquez not been on pole - at Laguna Seca in 2013 when he qualified in second place on the grid behind Stefan Bradl.

- The only riders currently competing in the MotoGP™ class who have won in the class at any of the American circuits are: Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP), Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda Team), Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati Team) and Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team).

- The Ducati Team have had one rider finish on the podium in Austin for the last three years: Andrea Dovizioso was third in 2014 and second in 2015; Andrea Iannone was third last year.

- Jorge Lorenzo’s second place finish last year is the best result for Yamaha at the Austin circuit so far.

- Maverick Viñales (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) finished fourth at Austin last year, one place ahead of then teammate Aleix Espargaro. This was the first time since the San Marino GP in 2007 that Suzuki had two riders finish in the top five places.

- All twelve podium finishers in the four previous MotoGP™ races held at Austin have been riders from either Spain or Italy.

- The winners of the last three Moto2™ races in Austin are now competing in the MotoGP class: Alex Rins (Team Suzuki Ecstar), Sam Lowes (Aprilia Racing Team Gresini) and Maverick Viñales (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP). The only other rider to win a Moto2™ race in Austin is Nico Terol, at the first visit to the circuit in 2013.

- The three riders who finished on the podium in the Moto2™ race last year in Austin (Rins, Lowes and Zarco) have all moved up to race in the MotoGP™ class in 2017.