Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

#StatAttack: Moto3™ saddle up for the Italian GP

Some interesting things to note ahead of Mugello for the lightweight runners

- The Moto3™ race at Mugello this year will be the 100th Grand Prix race for solo motorcycles to be held at the Mugello circuit.

- Joan Mir (Leopard Racing) won his third race in the five opening rounds; this is the first time it has happened since Danny Kent in 2015, who went on to become World Champion. This was the 210th win of a Spanish rider in the lightweight class and the first Spanish grand prix 1-2 in the Moto3™ class since Motegi 2014.

- With Andrea Migno (Sky Racing Team VR46), Joan Mir is now the only rider who have scored points in all five of the Moto3™ races in 2017. Mir crossed the line in seventh in Mugello last year from tenth on the grid.

- Second across the line in Le Mans was the third career podium finish for Arón Canet (Estrella Galicia 0,0). Ninth on the grid last year in Mugello, he crashed on the very last corner while he was in sixth position. 

- Fabio Di Giannantonio (Del Conca Gresini Moto3) crossed the line in third in Le Mans, his fifth podium finish to equal Niccolò Antonelli.

- Nakarin Atiratphuvapat (Honda Team Asia) finished 13th in Le Mans, making him the first Thai rider ever to have scored points in the lightweight class of grand prix racing. 

- Romano Fenati (Marinelli Rivacold Snipers) won in Mugello in 2014 and with Fabio Di Giannantonio (2nd last year was the first podium of his grand prix career), they are the only riders on the current grid to have stood on the podium at this track. Fenati is also the only Italian rider to have won in Mugello in Moto3™.

- Only Maverick Viñales (FTR Honda) in 2012 has won from pole position in Moto3™ at Mugello. That is also the only Honda victory at the track in Moto3™ so far.

- There have always been different winners in Mugello since the introduction of the Moto3™ class in 2012 (Viñales, Salom, Fenati, Oliveira and Brad Binder)

- Romano Fenati qualified on pole position last year at Mugello; the last time he started from pole.

- This is the first time since the introduction of the category in 2012 that there has been no KTM on the podium in five successive races.

- This is the first time since 2015 that Honda have won five successive races in Moto3™ and the first time since 1995 that the Japanese manufacturer has won the five opening races of a season in the lightweight class. 

- Last year at Mugello just 0.077 seconds covered the first five riders across the line in the Moto3™ race, making it the closest grand prix top five of all-time.