Johnny Garness closes in on Championship lead

The Fab-Racing riders and teams headed to the unique, flowing Rowrah Kart Circuit for Round 6

Rowrah Kart Circuit in Cumbria hosted the sixth round of the 2020 Fab-Racing championships. The unique, flowing circuit saw championship battles intensify with only two rounds left to go.


It was championship leader Lucas Brown took the holeshot from pole position, but after swapping positions all lap long with championship rival Johnny Garness, it was Garness that took the lead over the line and started to break away. As Garness pulled away at the front, leaving Brown in a lonely 2nd place, it was Ellough Park race winner Alfie Davidson who had slotted himself into 3rd spot. Meanwhile further back Harrison Mackay, Clayton Edmunds, and Mason Foster battled it out for 4th place. A crash late in the race for Harrison Mackay saw the number 61 rider remount his MKGP70 machine, only to find himself without working brakes at the next corner and crashing out of the race. It was Garness that took the win 4.1 seconds ahead of Lucas Brown, and despite a late race charge from Foster, it was Davidson that rounded out the podium.

Brown took the holeshot once more but it was Garness that was eager to get passed the championship leader, diving up the inside at turn 4 and sending Brown wide. Brown had dropped down to 3rd place after running very wide out of turn 4, but quickly dived back underneath Alfie Davidson at turn 5 to regain 2nd place. Garness proceeded to pull away at the front leaving Brown in another lonely 2nd place. Garness went on the to win by 3.6 seconds ahead of Brown, with Davidson taking another podium. Harrison Mackay took 4th ahead of Mason Foster and Ben Jolliffe.

Garness took an early lead for the final race, pulling a gap ahead of Lucas Brown from lap 1 as both riders pulled away from the rest of the field. A battle for 3rd place began to emerge between Davidson, Mackay, and Foster as the 3 desperately wanted to take the final podium of the weekend. Davidson was however awarded a 3 second time penalty for jumping the start, meaning he had to pull a 3 second lead over Mackay and Foster if he wanted to take 3rd place. Garness went on to win the race by 8.8 seconds ahead of Brown, taking 3 wins from 3 races at Rowrah. Davidson came across the line in 3rd, but with the 3 second jump start penalty was demoted down to 4th place ahead of Harrison Mackay, with Mason Foster taking the final podium.


Championship leader Ethan Sparks took the holeshot at turn 1, ahead of championship rival Ronnie Harris and Blake Wilson. The top 3 pulled away from the rest of the field, with Ethan Sparks pulling away from Harris in 2nd. Further back, Samuel Munson, Olly Horner and Harrison Mackay were embroiled in a race-long battle for 4th place. It was Ethan Sparks that won the race, 3 seconds ahead of Harris and Wilson, with Munson winning the battle for 4th.

Sparks took the holeshot once more in race 2, already pulling away from the field on lap 1 ahead of Harris, Horner, Wilson, and Cameron Soole. Sparks went on to take the win by 8.4 seconds ahead of Harris with Olly Horner just snatching 3rd place from Blake Wilson. Filip Surowiak charged through the field to pick up a brilliant 5th place after a race long battle with Mackay, Edmunds, and Munson.

Race 3 saw Sparks get a lightning start off of the line - already extending a 1.6-second lead on the first lap. Championship rival Ronnie Harris held onto 2nd place in the early stages, fending off Wilson and Horner. Sam Munson had his work cut out with Mackay, Edmunds and Surowiak breathing down his neck as he defended 5th place. Ethan Sparks took 3 wins from 3 with Harris taking 2nd in each race. Blake Wilson rounded out the podium ahead of Horner, with a massive 5 rider battle for 5th being won by Clayton Edmunds who finished in front of Mackay, Munson and Surowiak.


It was Archie O’Brien who dominated the LC40 Elite class at Rowrah, picking up 3 wins from 3 races after Round 5 at Ellough Park saw him take his maiden victory in the class. Championship leader Charlie Huntingford picked up three 2nd places consistently finishing ahead of championship rival Ryan Hitchcock, who walked away from the weekend with a 4th place and 2 podiums. Josh Bannister made his return to the podium in race 1 followed by 2 top 5 finishes.

Ethan Sparks took the first win of the weekend in the AC40Pros as he looked to extend his championship lead ahead of Archie Gibbs and Archie O’Brien picking up 3rd. It was Gibbs that got the better of Ethan Sparks in race 2 as he took the win by 10 seconds ahead of Sparks, and Thorley Trevorrow picking up another podium in his season. However, it was disaster for Gibbs in race 3 as he was ruled out of the race with technical issues, leaving Sparks to take the win by 4 seconds ahead of Joshua Williams who had turned his weekend around with a brilliant 2nd place. Thorley Trevorrow picked up 3rd place making it 2 podiums from 2 races on the Sunday.

Harrison Day dominated the AC40 Rookies taking all 3 wins of the weekend ahead of Oliver Hall taking three 2nd places and Travis Shaw who rounded out each podium.

The Fab-Racing Minibike British Championships will be back in action for Round 7 at Red Lodge in Suffolk from 25th-27th of September. All the action can be followed live or on demand on the Fab-Racing YouTube channel, on the Fab-Racing and Motorsport Radio Facebook pages, or on Motorsport Radio itself.

Head over to the Fab-Racing YouTube channel to watch all the races from a fantastic weekend of racing!

Every practice session, qualifying battle and race, exclusive interviews, historic races and so much more fantastic content: this is VideoPass!