Turkish Delight! Öncü bags maiden Moto3™ pole

The KTM Tech 3 rider stole P1 from Sergio Garcia while Romano Fenati cam through Q1 to launch from the front row

For the first time in his Grand Prix career, Deniz Öncü (Red Bull KTM Tech 3) will start from pole after recording a 1:36.453 in qualifying at the Michelin® Grand Prix of Styria. Joining the Turk on the front row of the grid will be Sergio Garcia (Santander Consumer GasGas Aspar) and Q1 graduate Romano Fenati (Sterilgarda Max Racing Team).

How pole position was won

Along with Fenati, Dennis Foggia (Leopard Racing), Tatsuki Suzuki (SIC 58 Squadra Corse) and Gabriel Rodrigo (Indonesian Racing Gresini Moto3) came through Q1 to complete the field in the battle for pole, and towards the latter end of the session, Championship leader Pedro Acosta was the man to beat. The Red Bull KTM Ajo rider’s time wouldn’t be good enough to stay top, and so it proved as his main title rival Sergio Garcia moved into P1. It was cause for tor celebration for the Spaniard, but it wouldn’t last long as an off-throttle highside sent him flying from his machine. To add insult to injury, Öncü then posted his pole setting lap as he was just getting back to his feet.

Garcia wasn’t the only faller of the session, as Ayumu Sasaki (Red Bull KTM Tech 3) hit the deck for a second time on Saturday, while Niccolo Antonelli (Avintia VR46) was pushing his KTM machine too hard as he highsided out of a fast lap.

How does the top 10 look?

A maiden pole continues to elude Acosta as he will line up from fourth, with the impressive Izan Guevara (Santander Consumer GasGas Aspar) and Foggia joining him in the second row. It’s a strong looking third row as Jaume Masia (Red Bull KTM Ajo) heads Darryn Binder (Petronas Sprinta Racing) and Jeremy Alcoba (Indonesian Racing Gresini Moto3), who saw his P4 time chalked off for a track limits infringement. Gabriel Rodrigo (Indonesian Racing Gresini Moto3) completes the top 10.

Top 10 combined:

1. Deniz Öncü (Red Bull KTM Tech3) – 1:36.453
2. Sergio Garcia (Santander Consumer Bank GASGAS Aspar) + 0.024
3. Romano Fenati (Sterilgarda Max Racing Team) + 0.053
4. Pedro Acosta (Red Bull KTM Ajo) + 0.122
5. Izan Guevara (Santander Consumer Bank GASGAS Aspar) + 0.182
6. Dennis Foggia (Leopard Racing) + 0.184
7. Jaume Masia (Red Bull KTM Ajo) + 0.184
8. Darryn Binder (Petronas Sprinta Racing) + 0.204
9. Jeremy Alcoba (Indonesian Racing Gresini Moto3) + 0.263
10. Gabriel Rodrigo (Indonesian Racing Gresini Moto3) + 0.267

Every practice session, qualifying battle and race, exclusive interviews, historic races and so much more fantastic content: this is VideoPass!