Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Poggiali dominates first day of 125 IRTA tests in Jerez

Poggiali dominates first day of 125 IRTA tests in Jerez

The first IRTA testing sessions of 2001 got underway today despite overnight rain at Jerez, and the 125cc class riders present at the Spanish circuit were able to lap throughout the day. Derbi´s San Marino rider Manuel Poggiali clocked the fastest time with a best lap of 1´49.606, and was followed by Italian Aprilia riders Gaspare Caffiero, Gino Borsoi and Lucio Cecchinello.

The Italian contingent were dominant as the track surface dried out in the afternoon, and ended up with two more riders - Max Sabbatani and Simone Sanna, also of Aprilia - in the top ten. Caffiero and Sanna were among three fallers, the other being Andorran Eric Bataille, but all emerged unhurt. Alex de Angelis put in an impressive performance on the Matteoni Racing team Honda, whilst Poggiali´s Derbi team-mate Youchi Ui had a relatively steady first day.

The morning session had been dominated by Noboru Ueda, who lapped well on his new TSR Honda despite a damp circuit, and the experienced Japanese rider was in optimistic mood as he took his first steps to what he hopes will be a Championship winning season. ´We have got a completely new chassis so that´s been our main focus today,´ he explained. ´We tried it out before at Suzuka but we can´t really get a proper feel for it until we test it at other tracks so it´s important to see how it goes here. We also have a new engine and this is the first time we have used it so there´s lots of things we will have to look at.´

Ueda revealed that it wasn´t just mechanical development that the IRTA tests are useful for ´One of the most important things about the IRTA tests for all the teams is not just to test the bike but also to build up the communication between the riders and mechanics. Many riders are with new teams, including myself so this is a great opportunity and a good experience for all of us.´

Official lap times:
Manuel Poggiali 1´49.606
Gaspare Caffiero 1´49.903
Gino Borsoi 1´49.917
Lucio Cecchinello 1´49.978
Noboru Ueda 1´50.213
Youichi Ui 1´50.349
Alex de Angelis 1´50.618
Max Sabbatani 1´50.696
Simone Sanna 1´50.718
Jarno Muller 1´50.724

125cc, 2001

Other updates you may be interested in ›