New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Interesting facts and statistics ahead of the Cinzano Rio Grand Prix

Interesting facts and statistics ahead of the Cinzano Rio Grand Prix


> If Poggiali should win the title he will be the first rider from San Marino to win a FIM Road Racing World Championship and the first rider to win the 125cc title riding a Gilera.

> Andrea Ballerini starts from his best ever grid position in his Grand Prix career. This is Ballerini’s second front row start of the year in what will be only his second start of 2001.

> Daniel Pedrosa starts from his highest ever grid position, and from the front row for the second successive race.

> Joan Olive starts from a best ever seventh place on the grid.

> Five of the eight riders on the front two rows of the grid are under the age of 19.


> Honda have won the 250cc race on four occasions at Jacarepagua, Aprilia have had one win in the 250cc class at this circuit.

> If Daijiro Katoh wins the race it will be his eleventh win of 2001 - a new record for most wins in a single season in the 250 class. Katoh needs to finish fourth or higher to break Valentino Rossi´s record for the most points scored in the 250cc class. Rossi notched up 309 points when winning the 250 title in 1999.

> Tetsuya Harada is going for his 14th podium finish of the year and a new record for the number of 250 podiums in a single season.

> Fonsi Nieto starts from pole position for the second time in his career, the other being in Valencia in September of this year.

> Roberto Rolfo and Fonsi Nieto are battling to become the highest placed privateer in the 250cc Championship for more than 17 years since Manfred Herweh finished second in 1984.

> This is the 14th race in 2001 that Aprilia have had at least three riders on the front row of the grid in the 250 class.


> Tohru Ukawa starts from pole for the first time in a 500cc Grand Prix. Ukawa is the first non-Italian to take pole position in the 500cc class this year.

> Kenny Roberts starts from the front row for the first time since the Italian Grand Prix in June.

> Shinya Nakano, ‘Rookie of Year’ in the 500cc class, starts from the front row for the ninth time in 2001.

> If Valentino Rossi should win it will be his eleventh victory of the year. Only Mick Doohan has scored more than eleven wins in one season in the 500cc class.

> Valentino Rossi has won on each of his last three visits to Rio, the 125cc race in 1997, the 250cc race in 1999 and the 500cc race last year.

> Carlos Checa has crashed out of the Rio Grand Prix on the last three occasions it has been held.

> Norick Abe has had three podium finishes here, including a win in 1999.

125cc, 2001

Other updates you may be interested in ›