Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Elias secures second consecutive race win

Elias secures second consecutive race win

Elias secures second consecutive race win

Toni Elias clinched his second GP winner's trophy in a row and the Spanish national anthem was played for the second time in one day at Le Mans after his comprehensive performance in France.

Local favourite Randy De Puniet passed hole-shotter Elias on lap four and started to clock some fast laps to try and break the tow. Elias hovered in his shadow and made an incredibly audacious move that nearly caused both to crash on lap 16. The Aprilia rider was then able to raise his game to pull away from a lonely De Puniet.

Early action witnessed a clash between World Championship leader Manuel Poggiali and Seba Porto that put both into the gravel after a quite spectacular crash. Poggiali was clearly at fault after running into the right hander too fast and clipping the rear of Porto´s Honda. Moments later Franco Battaini pushed Fonsi Nieto off the circuit while taking third position.

The frantic nature of the GP continued as the laps counted down with some excellent racing occurring for third position between Fonsi Nieto, Roby Rolfo, Sylvain Guintoli and Naoki Matsudo. Rolfo made an aggressive move to pip Nieto on the final lap while Franco Battaini ruled himself out of a podium after crashing on lap 16.

Matsudo placed fifth behind Nieto followed by Guintoli, Ant West, Alex Debon, Christian Gemmel and Joan Olive.
Elias is now second in the Championship, only five points behind Poggiali, with De Puniet trailing the Spaniard by two points in third.

250cc, 2003, Grand Prix Polini de France

Other updates you may be interested in ›