Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Last year at Rio

Last year at Rio

Last year at Rio

Jorge Lorenzo scored his first ever Grand Prix win in an exciting 125cc race at the Cinzano Rio Grand Prix last year, becoming the second youngest winner ever behind Marco Melandri. Lorenzo showed his pace all through the weekend with regular top five positions in qualification and produced an aggressive and mature performance in race to cut his way through a bustling leading group for his first taste of podium champagne.

Eventual World Champion Dani Pedrosa was an early leader after recovering from a poor start and making his way from a first lap position of 12th, but had to share the lead with Casey Stoner, Lorenzo and Alex de Angelis, whilst Pablo Nieto, Hector Barbera, Stefano Perugini, Andrea Dovizioso and Gabor Talmacsi also jostled for positions in the lead group.

Lorenzo hit the front on the final lap and defended his line well from Stoner, who was carrying shoulder and scaphoid injuries, whilst De Angelis held off Pedrosa for third.

However, fourth place for Pedrosa extended his World Championship lead to 42 points over Perugini, who crossed the line in seventh.

125cc, 2004

Other updates you may be interested in ›