New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Lawson enters MotoGP Hall of Fame

Lawson enters MotoGP Hall of Fame

Lawson enters MotoGP Hall of Fame

Former Word Champion Eddie Lawson, one of the many stars attending the Red Bull US Grand Prix this weekend at Laguna Seca, today became the 17th MotoGP Legend in a ceremony held just before the start of the qualifying session.

Several members of the MotoGP Hall of Fame attended the ceremony, including Mick Doohan, Freddie Spencer and Wayne Rainey. Eddie Lawson won four World Championships between 1984 and 1989 and scored 78 podium finishes, including 31 victories.

"This is a great weekend, it's a very special event," said Lawson. "Grand Prix racing is finally back in the States and it's the first time I'll see a MotoGP race ‘live'. I will also have a piece of the action with the Superkarts race, I am really enjoying myself!"

The MotoGP Hall of Fame was created to pay homage to the people who make up the history of the oldest motorsports World Championship, its first edition having taken place back in 1949. Since its launch in 2000, a series of exceptional riders from Grand Prix racing have been nominated as MotoGP Legends and inducted as members of the MotoGP Hall of Fame. Each of them has had an induction ceremony at one of the GPs, at which a unique silver medal recognizing the honour is presented to the new member.

The members inducted in this exclusive club so far are Daijiro Kato, Mick Doohan, Giacomo Agostini, Angel Nieto, Mike Hailwood, Kenny Roberts, Kevin Schwantz, Wayne Rainey, Carlo Ubbiali, Freddie Spencer, Anton Mang, Wayne Gardner, Barry Sheene, Geoff Duke, Phil Read and John Surtees.


Other updates you may be interested in ›