New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Indianapolis´ Racing Numbers

Indianapolis´ Racing Numbers

The Red Bull Indianapolis Grand Prix might be uncharted territory for the World Championship, but there are still plenty of Racing Numbers and statistics surrounding the latest round of the 2008 season.

120 – At the Red Bull Indianapolis Grand Prix, Shinya Nakano will be making his 120th successive start in the premier class of Grand Prix racing, one more successive start than achieved by his countryman Norick Abe. Only three riders have had longer sequences of successive starts at the top level: Alex Barros with 158, Valentino Rossi with 145 (following the recent San Marino race), and Max Biaggi, who started at 127 successive premier class races.

39 years – Race day at Indianapolis will be the 39th anniversary to the day of Kel Carruthers´ victory in the 250cc race at the Yugoslavian Grand Prix in 1969 at Opatija riding a Benelli. This win sealed the world title for Carruthers and was the last ever race win in the 250cc class by a four-stroke machine -and the last ever title win in the class by a four-stroke.

39 years – On the same day that Carruthers took the last ever 250cc four-stroke victory, another milestone was also set in the 500cc class with Britain´s Godfrey Nash taking the race win on a single-cylinder Norton. This is the last ever Grand Prix win by the historic manufacturer and the last win in the 500cc class by a single-cylinder machine.

4– Indianapolis is one of just four circuits on this year´s calendar where Ducati have not had a MotoGP win. The others are Le Mans, Estoril and Mugello.


Other updates you may be interested in ›