New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Aspar Team celebrate 200th podium with Assen clean sweep

Aspar Team celebrate 200th podium with Assen clean sweep

125cc results allow Jorge Martinez ‘Aspar’ to reach managerial milestone.

Valentino Rossi wasn’t the only man celebrating a milestone at the Alice TT Assen on Saturday. Former rider and now successful lower cylinder category chief Jorge Martinez ‘Aspar’ also had reason to be cheerful, podiums number 200, 201 & 202 for the Aspar Team.

Sergio Gadea, Julián Simón and Bradley Smith were the latest rostrum finishers for the outfit, continuing the stellar record started by Aspar himself back in 1992. The Spaniard took the runner-up spot in the Brazilian Grand Prix from 25th on the grid, his first podium as a rider-manager.

Upon hanging up his leathers in 1997, Aspar continued in the World Championship with the intention of continuing his legacy with young talents. Title victories in 125cc for Álvaro Bautista and Gabor Talmacsi rank amongst the highlights for the Spaniard, although on Saturday he was only focused on the remarkable podium clean sweep for his two-stroke stars.

"For me it is very fitting to celebrate our 200th podium here at Assen, because this is where I scored my first Grand Prix win, back in 1984,” he said. “It is now 30 years since I began my racing career. Who would have thought that that little 15-year-old, who only wanted to race bikes, would be here today enjoying such a special moment? It is a double satisfaction, firstly for the 200 podiums but also to have seen the variety of riders that have passed through our team, from so many different countries - it is a wonderfully enriching experience.”

“I would like to personally thank each and every one of those riders who have left their mark on this team, all the mechanics, staff and of course sponsors who over the years have given us the necessary backing to support this Project."

Bancaja Aspar riders Gadea and Simón wore special commemorative t-shirts for the Assen podium ceremony, as did Aspar himself as he joined the duo in collecting the team prize. Smith was only awarded the third place spot after the race, after Nico Terol was penalised for a last lap run-off along the asphalted sliproad.

125cc, 2009, ALICE TT ASSEN, Mapfre Aspar Team 250cc, Bancaja Aspar Team 125cc

Other updates you may be interested in ›