New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Movistar Yamaha’s record-breaking year so far

Movistar Yamaha’s record-breaking year so far

As Valentino Rossi and Jorge Lorenzo decimate the record books this year, find out just how good 2015 has been to the team so far.

Valentino Rossi, just one point ahead of teammate Jorge Lorenzo, leads The MotoGP™ World Championship. These two riders have had great success so far in 2015 on their factory Yamaha machines, resulting in the following records and milestones:

  • At the Catalunya Grand Prix Jorge Lorenzo became the first Yamaha rider to win four or more successive MotoGP™ races since Valentino Rossi won five in a row in 2008.

  • Those five successive wins by Rossi in 2008 was also the last time, before the current run of success, that Yamaha have won five successive MotoGP™ races.

  • Jorge Lorenzo has won the last four MotoGP™ races from start to finish, leading across the line at the end of every lap, which is 103 consecutive laps in the lead.  This is a new record in the MotoGP™ era for consecutive laps led by an individual rider.

  • In addition to the 103 laps led by Jorge Lorenzo, Valentino Rossi led across the line for the final two laps of the race in Argentina.  This means that Yamaha have led the last 105 laps, which equals the existing record for laps led by a manufacturer in the MotoGP™ era; this was achieved by Honda across the Czech, Portuguese, Rio, Pacific, Malaysian and Australian Grands Prix in 2003.

  • A win by any Yamaha rider at the Dutch TT and it will be six successive premier-class wins for Yamaha for the first time in the 67 year history of grand prix motorcycle racing.

MotoGP, 2015, Jorge Lorenzo, Valentino Rossi, Movistar Yamaha MotoGP

Other updates you may be interested in ›