New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Fewer winners in the 125cc class

Fewer winners in the 125cc class

Fewer winners in the 125cc class

This year, there were only five riders who managed to take the front spot of the podium. Azuma taken aside with his single win, the others were pretty close as World Champion Vincent took five wins, Poggiali four, and Pedrosa and Cecchinello three.

Last year, Ui won six races, but it wasn´t enough for him to take the title. Poggiali took three wins then, Elias and Azuma two, and Cecchinello, Ueda and Sanna one apiece. This year, Ueda, Sanna and Ui weren´t able to repeat their past successes while Elias move up in the 250cc class. Back in 1997, there were only two winners, Valentino Rossi and Noboru Ueda ; then, the italian took his first World Champion crown.

Among the 125cc riders, japanese Masao Azuma proved to be the most consistent. Since his first win in 1998, he won at least a race every year.

125cc, 2002

Other updates you may be interested in ›