New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Elias stays in front with new pole record

Elias stays in front with new pole record

Elias stays in front with new pole record

Toni Elias was simply untouchable in the final qualifying session for the 250cc race, continually improving his provisional pole time before stretching his advantage to some 0.884 seconds over nearest challenger Manuel Poggiali. Elias' last lap effort of 2'07.535 beat the previous pole record at this circuit held by his team-mate Fonsi Nieto, who was third fastest. A last gasp lap from Yamaha rider Naoki Matsudo sealed fourth place on an otherwise all-Aprilia front row.

Randy De Puniet battled through the discomfort of an overnight fever which continued to bother him in the hot and humid conditions at the Malaysian circuit this afternoon and he was unable to improve on his best time from yesterday. Only Matsudo's late effort denied him a front row start however and the Frenchman will start from fifth place. Franco Battaini, Sebastian Porto and Sylvain Guintoli complete the second row.

Chinese rider Huang Shi Zhao qualified in 25th place ahead of regular rider Henk Vd Lagemaat, although his unlucky team-mate He Zi Xian dropped out of the qualification limit, which is set at 107% of the pole time, when Elias clocked his best lap at the end of the session.

250cc, 2003, Marlboro Malaysian Motorcycle Grand Prix

Other updates you may be interested in ›