New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

2008 European Champions crowned in Albacete

2008 European Champions crowned in Albacete

Albacete was the setting for four European Championship races on Sunday, with winners in the 125GP, Supersport, Superstock 1000 and Women´s categories.

New European Champions were crowned at the Circuito de Albacete on Sunday, with conditions clearing up just in time for a fine day of racing. In front of 7,000 spectators, the prestigious titles were awarded in three male classes, in addition to a morning race for the female category.

The winner of the 125GP European title, Aprilia rider Lorenzo Savadori starred in the day´s grand finale, putting in a dominant performance. The Italian had been fast all weekend, and elected to lead from the front on Sunday afternoon. None of his fellow competitors were able to catch Savadori as he set the quickest times of the lower cylinder category race, with his best a 1´35.4 on lap 14. Second place went to Dutch rider Joey Litjens and his Seel machinery, with home hero Ricard Cardus taking third just 0.061 ahead of Riccardo Moretti. Previously involved in the leading group, Cyril Carrillo´s chances of a rostrum went up in smoke after he was obliged to perform a ride-through for a jump start.

Angel Rodriguez showed his class in the Supersport category, with an emphatic win onboard a Yamaha to take the European crown. The Spaniard took the holeshot from pole position, and never looked back as he extended the gap between himself and the other riders. Rodriguez was nearly six seconds ahead at the midway point of the race, and maintained the advantage en route to the chequered flag. British rider Kev Coghlan –who like Rodriguez started from the front row- came home second after winning a tough duel between himself and Daniel Rivas.

In the Superstock 1000 opener, Carmelo Morales took victory and the title of European Champion 2008 in a four-rider tussle for the win. The L´oreal Men Expert Yamaha Laglisse rider had fought with teammate and poleman Javier del Amor for nearly the entire duration of the race, but the latter was eventually eliminated from the podium fight after getting caught up with backmarkers. Del Amor crossed the line fourth, but a disqualification for Javier Fores due to a technical irregularity meant that he was awarded third in place of the Kawasaki man. Bernat Martinez overcame a deficit in power to clinch third, later amended to give him the runner-up spot in the 1000cc clash.

The Albacete circuit also played host to the 12-lap Women´s class race, won by Elena Rosell from second on the grid. The Spaniard battled with Hungarian rider Nikolett Kovacs throughout the race, before pulling away for victory. Iris Ten Katen's third place assured her the 600cc crown in the split category, whilst pole position starter Nina Prinz confirmed the 1000cc 2008 European title. Prinz was on double duty on race day, also competing in the Superstock 1000 class.

With the 2008 European Champions decided, the one-day format will be repeated next year. Albacete will once again be the venue, with November 1st the date set for the 2009 UEM European Road-Racing Championship.

MotoGP, 2008

Other updates you may be interested in ›