Moto3™ test ends with Bulega still on top

Sky Racing Team VR46 sophomore’s Day 2 time fastest overall

Italian 2016 Rookie of the Year contender Nicolo Bulega (Sky Racing Team VR46) has kept his top spot in the first Official Test of the year for the Moto3™ field, heading the timesheets from Estrella Galicia 0,0 rider Aron Canet and Del Conca Gresini Moto3™ rider Jorge Martin in the overall combined standings.

Bulega did a best of 1:46.232, just over a tenth ahead of Canet. With good conditions throughout the three days of testing, season preparation is now truly underway for the lightweight class.

Fourth fastest was an impressive showing from Czech rider Jakub Kornfeil (Peugeot MC Saxoprint), with Italian veteran of the class Romano Fenati (Marinelli Rivacold Snipers) completing the top five on the overall timesheets as he returns to Moto3™ competition. Kornfeil did a 1:46.473; Fenati a 1:46.486 in a tight fight in the top ten.

Marcos Ramirez was sixth quickest for Platinum Bay Real Estate, ahead of the RBA Racing Team duo of Gabriel Rodrigo and Juanfran Guevara – who were almost inseparable on the timesheets once again, split by less than half a tenth. 2016 Rookie of the Year Joan Mir settled into life on a Honda in ninth, with a best of 1:46.691 for the 2016 Austrian GP Moto3™ winner.

British Talent Team rider John McPhee completed the top ten overall after the new outfit’s first three days on the timesheets, putting in a 1:46.792 as his best effort.

Bo Bendsneyder (Red Bull KTM Ajo), Darryn Binder (Platinum Bay Real Estate), Tony Arbolino (SIC58 Squadra Corse), Philipp Oettl (Südmetall Schedl GP Racing) and reigning FIM CEV Repsol Moto3™ Junior World Champion Lorenzo Dalla Porta (Aspar Mahindra Moto3) completed the top 15.

Niccolo Antonelli (Red Bull KTM Ajo) was P16, with Enea Bastianini (Estrella Galicia 0,0) ending the test in P18 ahead of reigning Red Bull Rookies Cup champion Ayumu Sasaki (SIC Racing Team). Fabio Di Giannantonio (Del Conca Gresini Moto3) came back from a broken collarbone to complete the top 20.

For full results, click here!